2007-2008 Archive

Date/Location

Host Division

Invited Speaker

Host Faculty

Wed, Sept 5
2-137 Jackson Hall
4-5 PM

 

Dr. Reuben Harris, University of Minnesota

DNA Deamination in Adaptive and Innate Immunity.

 

Tues, Sept 11
2-101 NHH
4-5 PM

 

Dr. Kylie Walters, University of Minnesota

Deciphering How the Proteasome Recognizes its Substrates.

 

Wed, Sept 19
2-137 Jackson Hall
4-5 PM

 

Dr. Anja Bielinsky, University of Minnesota

DNA Replication and Genome Maintenance in Eukaryotic Cells.

 

Wed, Sept 26
105 Cargill
4-5 PM

Dagley Lecture

Dr. Gregory A. Petsko, Brandeis University, Waltham, MA (Adjunct Professor, Harvard Medical School)

Structural Enzymology in Four Dimensions: Time-Resolved Crystal Structures of Enzymes At Work.

Larry Wackett

Thur, Sept 27
105 Cargill
4-5 PM

Dagley Lecture

Dr. Gregory A. Petsko, Brandeis University

The Next Epidemic: What Happens To Your Brain As You Get Older and What We're Trying To Do About It

Larry Wackett

Wed., Oct. 3
2-137 Jackson Hall
4-5 PM

 

Dr. Hiroshi Matsuo, University of Minnesota

Structure of the DNA Deaminase Domain of the HIV-1 Restriction Factor APOBEC3G.

 

Wed, Oct. 10
105 Cargill
4-5 PM

Henderson Lecture

Dr. Richard Hanson, Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, OH

Phosphoenolpyruvate Carboxykinase: the Joy of Thinking Outside the Box.

BMBB Dept.

Wed, Oct 17
2-137 Jackson Hall
4-5 PM

Graduate Faculty Nominee

Dr. Jeff Gralnick, Biotechnology Institute, University of Minnesota

BMBB Dept.

Wed, Oct 24
2-137 Jackson Hall
4-5 PM

SBB

Dr. D. Allan Butterfield, University of Kentucky, Lexington, KY

Redox Proteomics and Alzheimer's Disease: Insights into Linkage of Oxidative Stress to Potential Mechanisms of Neurodegeneration and the Role of Amyloid Beta-Peptide (1-42)

 

Ian Armitage

Wed, Oct 31
2-137 Jackson Hall
4-5 PM

MB
 

Dr. Kathryn Meek, Michigan State University

DNA-PK: Director at the End.

Eric Hendrickson

Wed., Nov. 7
2-137 Jackson Hall
4-5 PM

MBB

Dr. Robert Bryant, University of Virginia, Charlottsville, VA

Water and Protein Dynamics.

David Thomas and Jack Surek

Tues, Nov 13
2-137 Jackson
12:20-1:10 PM

Lerner Lecture

Dr. Harry "Chip" Davis, Schering-Plough Research Institute, Kenilworth, NJ

David Bernlohr

Wed, Nov 14
2-137 Jackson Hall
4-5 pm

2007 Boyer-Peter Award recipient

Dr. Elena Kovaleva, University of Minnesota

Structures of Intermediates in the Oxygen Activation Mechanism of Extradiol Dioxygenases.       

John Lipscomb

Wed, Nov 21

 

No Seminar

 

Wed, Nov 28
2-137 Jackson Hall
4-5 PM

MBB

Dr. Steven Almo, Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Bronx, NY

Sequence, Structure , Function, Immunity

Larry Wackett

Mon, Dec 3
2-530 Moos Tower
4-5 PM

Faculty Search
Cargill Chair in Systems Biology

Dr. Daniel Raftery, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN

Advanced Metabolomics-Based Methods for Biomarker Discovery and Systems Biology Research.

David Thomas

Wed, Dec 5
2-137 Jackson Hall
4-5 PM

Graduate Faculty Nominee

Dr. Fumiaki Katagiri, Plant Biology, University of Minnesota

Signal transduction network involved in plant disease resistance.

 

Wed, Dec 12
2-137 Jackson Hall
4-5 PM

Faculty Search

Dr. Bing Li, Stowers Institute for Medical Research, Kansas City, MO

 

Thur, Dec 13
6-101 NHH
9-10 AM

Chalk Talk

Dr. Bing Li, Stowers Institute for Medical Research, Kansas City, MO

 

Wed, Dec 19
2-137 Jackson Hall
4-5 PM

Faculty Search

Dr. Jing Huang, Wistar Institute, Philadelphia, PA

Roles of p53 Methylation and Demethylation in Cancer.

 

Thur, Dec 20
6-101 NHH
9-10 AM

Chalk Talk

Dr. Jing Huang, Wistar Institute, Philadelphia, PA

 

Wed, Dec 26

 

No Seminar

 

Wed, Jan 2

 

No Seminar

 

Wed, Jan 9
2-137 Jackson Hall
4-5 PM

Faculty
Search

Dr. Nick Laribee, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC

Connecting transcriptional regulators to chromatin, mRNA export, and the nuclear pore.

 

 

Thur, Jan 10
6-135 Jackson
9-10 AM

Chalk Talk

Dr. Nick Laribee, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC

 

Wed., Jan 16
2-137 Jackson Hall
4-5 PM

Faculty
Search
Seminar

Dr. Alexandra Sobeck, Oregon Health and Science University, Portland, OR

A leap towards understanding genomic integrity: /Xenopus laevis/ as a new model to decipher the Fanconi Anemia/BRCA caretaker pathways.

 

Thur, Jan 17
6-135 Jackson Hall
9-10 AM

Chalk Talk

Dr. Alexandra Sobeck, Oregon Health and Science University, Portland, OR

 

Wed, Jan 23
2-137 Jackson Hall
4-5 PM

MB

Dr. Peter Baumann, Stowers Institute, Kansas City, MO

Protection of telomeres - all's well that ends well.

Eric Hendrickson

Mon, Jan 28
2-137 Jackson
4-5 PM

Faculty Search

Dr. Ray-Chung Wu, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX

Regulation of the Steroid Receptor Coactivator 3 (SRC-3) by a phosphorylation-dependent ubiquitin clock.

 

Tues, Jan 29
6-135 Jackson
9-10 AM

Chalk Talk

Dr. Ray-Chung Wu, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX

 

Wed., Jan 30
2-137 Jackson Hall
4-5 PM

RB

Dr. Jonathan Whittaker, Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, OH

Molecular Biology of Ligand Binding by Insulin and IGF Receptors.

Alex Lange

Wed, Feb 6
2-137 Jackson
4-5 PM

MBB

Dr. Wilfred A. van der Donk, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Biosynthesis of Lantibiotics, Complex Macrocylic Thioethers.

 

Romas Kazlauskas

Wed., Feb 13
2-137 Jackson
4-5 PM

SBB

Dr. A. Joshua Wand, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA

Gianluigi Veglia

Wed, Feb 20
2-137 Jackson Hall
4-5 PM

Dr.   Christin Carter-Su, University of Michigan Medical School, Ann Arbor, MI

The Role of the Tryosine Kinase JAK2 in Actions of Growth Hormone

David Bernlohr

Wed, Feb 27
2-137 Jackson Hall
4-5 PM

MB

Dr. Fredrick Alt, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Children's Hospital, Boston, MA

DNA Double Strand Breaks, Translocations and Lymphoma.

Reuben Harris

Wed, Mar 5
2-137 Jackson Hall
4-5 PM

MB

Dr. Saba Valadkhan, Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, OH

RNA Catalysis in the Spliceosome: Toward a Minimal Model for the Largest Molecular Machine in the Cell.

Reuben Harris

Wed, Mar 12
2-137 Jackson Hall
4-5 PM

MBB

Dr. Justin Courcelle, Portland State University, Portland, OR

Therefore, What are Recombination Proteins there FOR?

Arkady Khodursky

Wed, Mar 19

Spring Break

No Seminar

 

Wed, Mar 26
2-137 Jackson Hall
4-5 PM

RB

Dr. Jie Chen, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Do-Hyung Kim

Wed, Apr 2
2-137 Jackson Hall
4-5 PM

SBB

Dr. Carsten Krebs, Penn State University

The Heterbinuclear Mn/Fe Ribonucleotide Reductase from Chlamydia Trachomatis.

John Lipscomb and Larry Que

Wed, Apr 9
2-137 Jackson Hall
4-5 PM

MBB

Dr. Donald Doyle, Georgia Institute of Technology

Chemistry through the Power of Genetic Selection.

Romas Kazlauskas

Wed, Apr 16
2-137 Jackson Hall
4-5 PM

MB

Dr. Mirit Aladjem, National Cancer Institute, NIH, Bethesda, MD

Genetic and Epigenetic Regulation of DNA Replication.

Anja Bielinsky

Wed, Apr 23
2-137 Jackson Hall
4-5 PM

RB

Dr. Brian Chait, Rockefeller University, New York

Proteomic Approaches for Elucidating Cellular Processes.

Tim Griffin

Wed, Apr 30
2-137 Jackson Hall
4-5 PM

SBB

Dr. Lan Huang, University of California, Irvine

Deciphering the Ubiquitin-Proteasome Dependent Degradation Pathway Using Proteomic Approaches.

Kylie Walters

Tues, May 6
2-101 NHH
2 PM

Lazarow Lecture

Dr. Seung Kim, Stanford University, Palo Alto, CA

Mechanisms Controlling Pancreatic Islet Growth in Development and Disease.

BMBB & GCD

Wed, May 7
1-5 PM
Coffman Memorial Union

Dr. Ying-Hui Fu, University of California, San Francisco, CA

Molecular Characterization of Human Sleep Variants.

Dr. Steve A. Kay, University of California, San Diego, C

Network Discovery Pipelines for Circadian Clocks

Dr. Amita Sehgal, University of Pennsylvania Medical School, Philadelphia, PA

Molecular Biology of Circadian Rhythms in Drosophila.

Dr. Joseph S. Takahashi,  Northwestern University, Evanston, IL

Genetic Analysis of Circadian Clocks in Mammals .      

RB