2004-2005 Archive

Date/Location
Host Division
Invited Speaker
Host Faculty
Wed., Sept. 8
3-120 MCB
4-5 PM

RB

 

Terry Unterman
University of Illinois, Chicago

"FoxO Transcription Factors in Insulin Action: Effects on Hepatic Glucose and Lipid Metabolism"

  Howard Towle
Wed., Sept. 15
3-120 MCB
4-5 PM

SBB

Daniel Finley
Harvard Medical School, Boston

  Kylie Walters
Wed., Sept. 22
105 Cargill-MPG Bldg.
4-5 PM

MBB

 

H. Steven Wiley, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Richland, WA

"Computational Analysis of Biological Networks"

Fumiaki Katagiri
(Plant Biology)
Wed., Sept. 29
3-120 MCB
4-5 PM

MBB

Diane Robins, University of Michigan Medical School, Ann Arbor


"A tale of two mechanisms: Androgen control of liver sex differences and prostate cancer".

  Michel Sanders
Wed., Oct. 6
3-120 MCB
4-5 PM

RB

 

Leonard R. Forte,
Truman Memorial VA Hospital, Columbia, MO


"Uroguanylin Receptor-Guanyl Cyclase and Cyclic GMP: From Travelers' Diarrhea To Colon Cancer"

  Lincoln Potter
Wed., Oct. 13
239 Gortner
1-2 PM

MBB

John Frost
Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI
Benzene-Free Chemical Synthesis

Faculty Candidate
Wed., Oct. 20
3-120 MCB
4-5 PM

SBB

 

Yeon-Kyun Shin, Iowa State University


"SNARE-induced membrane fusion: Digging out the structural basis from the membrane with EPR"

  David Thomas
Wed., Oct. 27
3-120 MCB
4-5 PM

MB

Sang Eun Lee, University of Texas, San Antonio
"Remodeling and Fixing Broken Chromosomes"

Eric Hendrickson
Wed., Nov. 3
3-120 MCB
4-5 PM

RB

 

Randy Tibbetts, University of Wisconsin-Madison
"Genome surveillance functions of ATM/ATR family kinases"

  David Bernlohr
Wed., Nov. 10
105 Cargill-MPG Bldg.
4-5 PM

Sir David Hopwood, John Innes Centre, Norwich, UK


"The discovery and development of antibiotics."

  Larry Wackett
Thur., Nov. 11
105 Cargill-MPG Bldg.
4-5 PM

Sir David Hopwood, John Innes Centre, Norwich, UK


"Using Streptomyces genes to make new antibiotics."

Larry Wackett
Tues., Nov 16
2-520 Moos Tower
12:20 PM

Lerner
Lecture

Jean Schaffer


"Lipotoxicity: when tissues overeat"

  David Bernlohr
Wed., Nov. 17
 

No Seminar

 
Wed., Nov. 24
 

No Seminar

 
Wed., Dec. 1
3-120 MCB
4-5 PM
MB

Louis Mansky, Institute for Molecular Virology, UMN

Reuben Harris
Wed., Dec. 8
3-120 MCB
4-5 PM
RB

Robert Murphy, National Jewish Medical and Research Center (Denver, CO)

"Leukotriene Biosynthesis and Fatty Acid Binding Proteins"

David Bernlohr
Wed., Dec. 15
3-120 MCB
4-5 PM
SBB

Peter Fajer, Florida State University


"Conformational changes in muscle associated with force generation and activation."

David Thomas
Wed. Dec. 22
 

No Seminar

 
Wed., Dec 29
 

No Seminar

 
Wed., Jan 5
 

No Seminar

 
Mon., Jan 10
3-120 MCB
4-5 PM
Faculty Search Seminar

Dr. Ailong Ke, University of California, Berkeley


"Chemical Repertoire of RNA in HDV Ribozyme and Signal Recognition Particle"

 
Tues., Jan 11
6-135 Jackson
8:30-9:30 AM
Chalk Talk

Dr. Ailong Ke, University of California, Berkeley

 
Wed., Jan 19
3-120 MCB
4-5 PM
Faculty Search
Seminar

Dr. Andrey Krasilnikov, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL 


"Structural Diversity in Homologous RNAs: Two Types of the Specificity Domain of RNase P Ribozyme"

 
Thur., Jan 20
6-135 Jackson
8:30-9:30 AM

Chalk Talk

Dr. Andrey Krasilnikov, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL 

 

Mon., Jan 31
2-530 Moos
4-5 PM

Faculty Search
Seminar

Dr. Mark Wilson, Brandeis University, Waltham, MA


"Structural Studies of the DJ-1 Superfamily: Implications for the Molecular Basis of Parkinson's Disease"

 

Tues., Feb 1
6-135 Jackson
8:30-9:30 AM

Chalk Talk

Dr. Mark Wilson, Brandeis University, Waltham, MA

 

Wed., Feb 2
3-120 MCB
4-5 PM

Faculty Search
Seminar

Dr. Helen Walden, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital, Memphis, TN


"Structural Insights into Ubiquitin-like protein transfer cascades"

 

Thur., Feb 3
6-135 Jackson
8:30-9:30 AM

Chalk Talk

Dr. Helen Walden, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital, Memphis, TN

 

Mon, Feb 7
2-530 Moos Tower
4-5 PM

Faculty Search
Seminar

Dr. Tsan Xiao, Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA 


"The Structural Basis for Integrin Activation, Ligand Binding and Therapeutic Antagonism"

 

Tues, Feb 8
6-101 BSBE

Chalk Talk

Dr. Tsan Xiao, Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA 

 

Wed., Feb 9
3-120 MCB
4-5 PM

Faculty Search
Seminar

Dr. Jeff Vargason, NIEHS/NIH, Triangle Park, NC


"Structure, Specificity, and Function of an RNA Silencing Suppressor"

 

Thur., Feb 10
6-135 Jackson
8:30-9:30 AM

Chalk Talk

Dr. Jeff Vargason, NIEHS/NIH, Triangle Park, NC

 

Mon., Feb 14
239 Gortner
4:00 PM

Faculty Search
Seminar

Dr. Alexander Horswill, Pennsylvania State University, PA


"Using protein engineering to investigate enzyme catalysis and protein-protein interactions."

 

Tues., Feb 15
342 Gortner
10:30-11:30 AM

Chalk Talk

Dr. Alexander Horswill, Pennsylvania State University, PA

 

Wed., Feb 16
3-120 MCB
4-5 PM

Goldberg Lecture

Dr. Barbara Kahn, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Harvard Medical School, Boston


"AMP-activated Protein Kinase: Ancient Fuel Gauge is a Key to Modern Understanding of Metabolism"

Alex Lange

Wed., Feb. 23
3-120 MCB
4-5 PM

MB

Dr. Christopher Pearson, University of Toronto


"DNA Replication, Repair and Modulation of Disease-associated CAG Repeat Instability"

Anja-Katrin Bielinsky

Mon, Feb 28
239 Gortner
4-5 PM

Faculty
Search
Seminar

Dr. Zhi Li, Institute of Biotechnology, Zurich Switzerland


"Development of biocatalytic methods for enantioselective synthesis."

 

Tues., Mar 1
342 Gortner
9-10 AM

Chalk Talk

Dr. Zhi Li, Institute of Biotechnology, Zurich Switzerland

 

Wed., Mar., 2
3-120 MCB
4-5 PM

SB

Dr. Nils Walter, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor


"Lumos or: Seeing is believing: Structural dynamics and function are closely linked in (single) RNA enzymes"

Karin Musier-Forsyth

Wed., Mar., 9
3-120 MCB
4-5 PM

MB

Dr. Eric U. Selker, University of Oregon


"Genome Defense and DNA Methylation in Neurospora"

Reuben Harris

Wed., Mar., 16

 

No Seminar

 

Wed., Mar., 23
3-120 MCB
4-5 PM

RB

Dr. Grant Anderson, University of Minnesota, Duluth


"The control of thyroid hormone action during mammalian brain development"

Alex Lange

Wed., Mar. 30
3-120 MCB
4-5 PM

MB

Dr. Lawrence Kleiman, Jewish General Hospital, Montreal


"Regulation of Primer tRNALys3/Viral RNA  Annealing During Reverse Transcription in HIV-1"

Karin Musier-Forsyth

Wed., Apr., 6
3-120 MCB
4-5 PM

SB

Dr. Peter H. Yu, University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, Canada


"Involvement of Aldehydes Derived from SSAO-mediated Deamination in Protein Misfolding Related to Aging and Chronic Neurodegeneration: From Diabetes to Alzheimer's Disease"

Carrie Wilmot

Wed., Apr., 13

 

No Seminar

 

Wed., Apr., 20
3-120 MCB
4-5 PM

RB

Dr. Sheila Collins, Centers for Health Research (CIIT), Research Triangle Park, NC


"Mitochondrial Uncoupling Proteins: Regulatory Mechanisms and Role in Metabolic Disease"

Betsy Wattenberg and David Bernlohr

Wed., Apr., 27
3-120 MCB
4-5 PM

SB

Dr. Arwen Pearson, BMBB (Wilmot Lab), Boyer-Peter Award recipient (2003-4)


"Probing the Biogenesis of Tryptophan Tryptophylquinone, the Novel Protein Derived Cofactor of Methylamine Dehydrogenase"

Carrie Wilmot

Wed., May 4
2-690 Moos
1-5 PM

Bollum Smposium

"Computational Biochemistry and Molecular Biology"