You are here

Graduate program faculty

Looking to join a lab? Many of our faculty are looking for new students every year. Faculty currently accepting students for Fall 2017 are indicated by an *asterisk below. Please visit individual faculty websites to learn more about the research of EEB graduate faculty.

NOTE:   Faculty without an (*) may still be interested in recruiting students, feel free to contact any faculty listed below.

 

FACULTY
RESEARCH FOCUS
EMAIL

Frank Albert
*Accepting students, Fall 2017

I study the genetic basis and evolution of variation in gene expression, cell biology, and fitness.

falbert@umn.edu

David Andow
*Accepting students, Fall 2017

Ecology and management of arthropods in human dominated ecosystems

dandow@umn.edu

F. Keith Barker
*Accepting students, Fall 2017

 

barke042@umn.edu

Mark Bee
 *Accepting students, Fall 2017

My lab studies the mechanisms and evolution of acoustic communication.

mbee@umn.edu

Ran Blekhman
*Accepting students, Fall 2017

My lab uses genomics to study the evolution of symbiosis between humans and their microbiome.

blekhman@umn.edu

Elizabeth Borer
*Accepting students, Fall 2017

I study the effects of environmental change on communities.  I am currently looking for a student to work in a collaborative group using empirical and theoretical approaches to study vector movement behavior and pathogen dynamics in communities of pathogens.

borer@umn.edu

Mark Borrello

 

borrello@umn.edu

Yaniv Brandvain
*Accepting students, Fall 2017

Grounded in theoretical and empirical population genomics, my group investigates plant evolution at micro and macroevolutionary scales.

ybrandva@umn.edu

Kathryn Bushley

 

kbushley@umn.edu

Jeannine Cavender-Bares
*Accepting students, Fall 2017

I study plant physiological ecology and evolutionary ecology. I am currently using remotely sensed hyperspectral data to detect plant biodiversity and examine ecological processes above and below ground.

cavender@umn.edu

James B. Cotner

 

cotne002@umn.edu

Meggan Craft
 *Accepting students, Fall 2017

My lab studies  infectious disease dynamics in animal populations.

craft@umn.edu

James W. Curtsinger

 

jwcurt@umn.edu

Antony M. Dean

 

deanx024@umn.edu

R. Ford Denison

 

denis036@umn.edu

Jacques C. Finlay

My lab studies freshwater ecosystems and their interactions with surrounding landscapes.

jfinlay@umn.edu

Valery Forbes
 *Accepting students, Fall 2017

Our research focuses on predicting the effects of toxic chemicals and other stressors on populations using mechanistic modeling.

veforbes@umn.edu

James D. Forester
*Accepting students, Fall 2017

 

jdforest@umn.edu

David L. Fox

 

dlfox@umn.edu

Lee E. Frelich

 

freli001@umn.edu

Susan M. Galatowitsch

 

galat001@umn.edu

Emma Goldberg
*Accepting students, Fall 2017

My group uses mathematical and computational methods to learn about biogeography and plant mating system evolution.
 

eeg@umn.edu

Jeff Gralnick

 

gralnick@umn.edu

Jessica Gutknecht
*Accepting students, Fall 2017

I study soil microbial community dynamics and how they inform our
understanding of ecosystem functions such as carbon cycling and
sustainability.

jgut@umn.edu

WIlliam Harcombe
*Accepting students, Fall 2017

We do experimental evolutionary ecology of microbial systems.

harcombe@umn.edu

George Heimpel
*Accepting students, Fall 2017

We study host-parasitoid interactions, usually in the context of biological control of invasive species; projects include conservation of Darwin's finches in the Galapagos Islands and biological control of agricultural pests and weeds in the United States.

heimp001@umn.edu

Jessica Hellmann
*Accepting students, Fall 2017

I research ecological effects of climate change and strategies for reducing climate-related risks in species and ecosystems. 

hellmann@umn.edu

Sarah E. Hobbie

 

shobbie@umn.edu

Forest Isbell

We investigate anthropogenic drivers and ecosystem consequences of changes in biodiversity.

isbell@umn.edu

Sharon Jansa
 *Accepting students, Fall 2017

The Jansa lab studies the systematics, biogeography, and diversification of mammals, particularly rodents and opossums.

jansa003@umn.edu

Susan D. Jones

 

jone0996@umn.edu

Peter Kennedy

 

kennedyp@umn.edu

Linda L. Kinkel
 *Accepting students, Fall 2017

 

We study the ecology and evolutionary biology of soil and plant microbiomes focusing on the relationships between plant communities, soil carbon dynamics, and microbiome composition and functional characteristics. 

kinkel@umn.edu

Kenneth H. Kozak

 

kozak016@umn.edu

Scott M. Lanyon

 

lanyo001@umn.edu

Diane L. Larson

My lab is interested in plant-pollinator interactions at the community scale and how invasive plants (and their control) affect these interactions.

dllarson@umn.edu

Clarence L. Lehman

 

lehman@umn.edu

Georgiana May

 

gmay@umn.edu

Suzanne McGaugh

 

smcgaugh@umn.edu

L. David Mech

My research involves monitoring wolf-deer relations in the Superior National Forest.

mechx002@umn.edu

David Moeller
 *Accepting students, Fall 2017

 

moeller@umn.edu

Rebecca A. Montgomery

My research focuses on global change impacts on forest ecosystems. I am particularly interested in phenology, the timing of biological activity, and how it influences ecological communities.

rebeccam@umn.edu

Claudia Neuhauser

Analysis of ecological and evolutionary models and the development of statistical methods in biomedical applications

neuha001@umn.edu

Raymond M. Newman

My lab is assessing control of invasive aquatic macrophytes and factors influenceing restoration of native macrophyte communities. 

rnewman@umn.edu

Karen S. Oberhauser

 

oberh001@umn.edu

Craig Packer
*Accepting students, Fall 2017 

My current research interests range from animal cognition to savanna ecology to wildlife conservation, and my lab group works primarily in southern Africa.

packer@umn.edu

John Pastor

 

jpastor@nrri.umn.edu

Steve Polasky

 

polasky@umn.edu

Jennifer S. Powers

We study ecosystem ecology of tropical landscapes.

powers@umn.edu

Peter B. Reich

 

preich@umn.edu

Michael J. Sadowsky

 

sadowsky@umn.edu

Eric Seabloom

 

seabloom@umn.edu

Allison Shaw
*Accepting students, Fall 2017

My group uses theory to study evolutionary and ecological aspects of migration and dispersal behaviors.

ashaw@umn.edu

Ruth G. Shaw

Using the concepts and approaches of quantitative genetics and plant population biology, our group is addressing questions about evolutionary responses of native plant populations to spatially varying and changing environments.

shawx016@umn.edu

Andrew M. Simons
*Accepting students, Fall 2017

My lab studies systematics and evolution of trophic morphology in fishes.

asimons@umn.edu

Emilie C. Snell-Rood
*Accepting students, Fall 2017

My lab studies the evolution of behavioral and developmental plasticity, especially in the context of anthropogenic change.

emilies@umn.edu

Peter W. Sorensen

 

soren003@umn.edu

Marla Spivak
*Accepting students, Fall 2017

We study mechanisms of honey bee social immunity, incorporating molecular, cellular, behavioral and ecological approaches to improve bee health.

spiva001@umn.edu

David W. Stephens
*Accepting students, Fall 2017

Experimental and theoretical behavioral ecology especially the statistical determinants of behavioral plasticity and the evolution of non-human conventions.

steph031@umn.edu

Robert W. Sterner
*Accepting students, Fall 2017

My research concerns ecological stoichiometry, the balance of elements in ecological systems.  

stern007@umn.edu

G. David Tilman

 

tilman@umn.edu

Peter Tiffin

 

ptiffin@umn.edu

Michael Travisano

 

travisan@umn.edu

Paul Venturelli
*Accepting students, Fall 2017 

My group studies life history, temperature effects, and population dynamics in the context of fish management and conservation.
 

pventure@umn.edu

George Weiblen
*Accepting students, Fall 2017

The Weiblen lab studies plant and insect systematics, molecular phylogenetics, population genetics, ecology and coevolution. 

gweiblen@umn.edu

Michael Wilson

 

wilso198@umn.edu

Robert M. Zink

 

rzink2@unl.edu

Marlene Zuk
*Accepting students, Fall 2017

My lab studies sexual selection and mate choice, and we are especially interested in the ways that parasites and disease can affect those patterns. 

mzuk@umn.edu