You are here

MCDB&G faculty

Advising faculty

 

 

 

Name
Research focus
Email
Phone

Adamala, Kate

We are combining top-down and bottom-up approaches to synthetic biology; we use tools of protein engineering and molecular biology, together with novel synthetic cell technologies, to understand and modulate biological processes in complex systems.

kadamala@umn.edu

612-625-9066

Albert, Frank

We study the genetics of complex traits: how variation in genome sequences influences individual molecular, cellular and organismal features. We also seek to understand the evolutionary forces that shape genomic diversity.

falbert@umn.edu

 

Bardwell, Vivian 

Transcriptional regulation in cancer and development

bardw001@umn.edu

612-626-7028

Blazar, Bruce

Developmental mechanisms, neuroscience, and regulation of gene expression

blaza001@umn.edu

612-626-2734

Blekhman, Ran

Population, evolutionary, and medical genomics; understanding how human genetic variation affects phenotypic diversity and complex disease; computational genomics and metagenomics

blekhman@umn.edu

612-624-4092

Chen, Lihsia 

Cell adhesion, signal transduction, cytoskeleton, and C. elegans.

chenx260@umn.edu

612-625-1299

Clarke, Duncan 

Yeast and Human Cell Cycle Control

clark140@umn.edu

612-624-3442

Conner, Sean 

Clathrin-mediated endocytosis; mammalian intracellular membrane trafficking.

sdconner@umn.edu

612-625-3707

Courtemanche, Naomi

Structure, assembly and dynamics of actin-based cytoskeletal network

ncourtem@umn.edu

612-624-3195

Echeverri, Karen

Molecular and cellular mechanisms of regeneration.

echev020@umn.edu

612-626-7320

Engelhart, Aaron

The research in the Engelhart laboratory is directed towards better understanding nucleic acid folding and function in order to advance two broad themes: 1) the development of novel nucleic acid-based imaging, analytical, and diagnostic technologies and 2) the elucidation of unanticipated roles for nucleic acids in vivo.

enge0213@umn.edu

612-625-1950

Ervasti, James

Molecular Basis of Muscular Dystrophy; Role of Actin in Cell Polarity

jervasti@umn.edu

612-626-6517

Farrar, Michael 

Signal transduction and lymphocyte development

farra005@umn.edu

612-625-0401

Gammill, Laura

Cytoskeleton and Cell Motility, developmental mechanisms, neuroscience, and regulation of gene expression

gammi001@umn.edu

612-625-6158

Gardner, Melissa

Chromatin mechanics and dynamics; Quantitative fluorescence microscopy

klei0091@umn.edu

612-626-6760

Garry, Daniel

Regenerative medicine, cardiogenesis, and stem-cell biology.

garry@umn.edu

612-625-8988

Greenstein, David 

Fundamental and fascinating developmental processes of meiosis and fertilization using C. elegans

green959@umn.edu

612-624-3955

Hallstrom, Timothy

How Rb/E2F1 mediated apoptosis is regulated in normal and cancer cells 

halls026@umn.edu

612-626-2905

Harris, Reuben 

The causes and consequences of programmed mutagenesis

rsh@umn.edu

612-624-0457

Hays, Thomas

Cytoskeleton and cell motility, developmental mechanisms

haysx001@umn.edu

612-626-2949

Hogquist, Kristin 

Molecular mechanism of cell-fate determination in T cells

hogqu001@umn.edu

612-625-1616

Igarashi, Peter

Kidney development, transcriptional regulation, microRNAs, primary cilia, polycystic kidney disease (PKD)

igarashi@umn.edu

612-625-3654

Jameson, Stephen

Development, homeostasis and trafficking of T lymphocytes

james024@umn.edu

612-625-1496

Kawakami, Yasuhiko

Understanding the molecular and genetic mechanisms of vertebrate limb development and apply the study to elucidate the mechanisms of congenital limb in human and limb regeneration

kawak005@umn.edu

612-626-9935

Kikyo, Nobuaki 

Nuclear reprogramming in somatic cell nuclear cloning and stem cells

kikyo001@umn.edu

612-624-0498

Knights, Dan

Our computational microbiology lab develops methods that bring precision medicine to the microbiome. We apply those methods to find patterns in microbial communities that predict and diagnose human diseases, and we use those patterns to develop novel therapeutics and diagnostics.

dknights@umn.edu

 

Koepp, Deanna

Cell cycle regulation, Ubiquitination and proteolysis, Genetic mechanisms of tumorigenesis

koepp015@umn.edu

612-624-4201

Kyba, Michael

Stem Cell Biology: regulatory pathways, diseases and therapies Transcriptional control of mesoderm development

kyba@umn.edu

612-626-5869

Largaespada, David 

Identification and understanding of genes involved in cancer development

larga002@umn.edu

612-626-4979

Luxton, G.W. Gant

Nuclear cell biology; specifically nuclear-cytoskeletal interactions; their formation, regulation and dysfunction in disease

luxto003@umn.edu

612-624-8343

Mansky, Kim

Focus on signaling and transcriptional mechanisms that regulate osteoclast differentiation

kmansky@umn.edu

612-626-5582

Mansky, Lou

Cell and molecular biology of HIV and HTLV

mansky@umn.edu

612-626-5525

McIvor, R Scott 

Gene therapy for genetic disease and cancer using viral and non-viral vectors

mcivo001@umn.edu

612-626-1497

McLoon, Linda 

Craniofacial muscles in health and disease

mcloo001@umn.edu

612-626-0777

Moriarity, Branden

My lab works on pediatric cancer genetics, immunotherapy, and gene therapy using cutting edge technologies, including DNA transposons, TALENs, and CRISPR/Cas9. 

mori0164@umn.edu

612-625-2226

Myers, Chad

Computational biology and functional genomics - Machine learning for integrating diverse genomic data to make inferences about biological networks

cmyers@cs.umn.edu

612-624-8306

Nakato, Hiroshi 

Molecular and genetic analysis of Drosophila development

nakat003@umn.edu

612-625-1727

Neufeld, Thomas 

Developmental control of growth and cell proliferation in Drosophila

neufe003@umn.edu

612-625-5158

O'Connor, Michael 

Cell-cell interactions in growth, differentiation, and development

moconnor@umn.edu

612-626-0642

Perlingeiro, Rita

Mechanisms controlling lineage decision and reprogramming, and application to regenerative medicine

perli032@umn.edu

612-625-4984

Porter, Mary 

Regulation of dynein-based motility

porte001@umn.edu

612-626-1901

Schmidt, Daniel

Our group invents and applies protein engineering technologies to study fundamental functional principles of natural and artificial living systems at a cellular level.

schmida@umn.edu

612-625-1180

Shimizu, Yoji 

Lymphocyte and tumor cell adhesion, migration and signal transduction

shimi002@umn.edu

612-626-6849

Simon, Jeffrey 

Animal development; control of gene expression; chromatin mechanisms

simon004@umn.edu

612-626-5097

Sivaramakrishnan, Sivaraj (Shiv)

Protein acrobatics - Study of protein function via protein engineering; Focus on cell signaling and motor proteins

sivaraj@umn.edu

612-301-1537

Somia, Nikunj 

My laboratory is interested in understanding the lifecycle of retroviruses and use this information 1) to identify new drug targets for HIV, 2) to develop better vectors for gene therapy and 3) to use these vectors for gene discovery.

somia001@umn.edu

612-625-6988

Song, Guisheng

My research focuses mainly on the roles of microRNAs in the pathogenesis of non-alcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD), obesity, insulin resistance and liver cancer, with the goal to develop novel therapeutic approaches for these disorders.

gsong@umn.edu

612-624-9961

Starr, Tim

Understanding the genetics of cancer in order to develop individualized, targeted therapies

star0044@umn.edu

612-626-6971

Titus, Margaret

Molecular genetic analysis of unconventional myosin function

titus004@umn.edu

612-625-8498

Tolar, Jakub

Stem cell gene therapy

tolar003@umn.edu

612-626-5501

Van Ness, Brian 

Cancer transgenic mouse models and pharmacogenomics

vanne001@umn.edu

612-624-9944

Voytas, Daniel 

Plant genome engineering through homologous recombination; Retrotransposable elements and genome organization

voytas@umn.edu

612-626-4509

Whitley, Chester

Evaluate retroviral-mediated gene transfer in hematopoietic cells and reversal of the disease process in vitro thus providing the impetus to initiate clinical trials of gene therapy

whitley@umn.edu

612-625-7422

Yamamoto, Masato

Cancer gene-therapy and virotherapy

yamam016@umn.edu

612-624-9131

Zarkower, David

Molecular genetics of sexual differentiation, germ cell development, and testis cancer

zarko001@umn.edu

612-625-9450

Academic faculty

 

 

 

Name

Research focus

Email

Phone

Brooker, Robert

Structure and function of membrane-bound transport proteins

brook005@umn.edu

612-624-3053

Davis, Dana

C. albicans genetics and pathogenesis

dadavis@umn.edu

612-624-1912

Hackett, Perry

Transposons, human gene therapy, vertebrate gene expression, mouse, zebrafish

hacke004@umn.edu

612-624-6736

Hirsch, Betsy

Cytogenetic techniques to elucidate constitutional and acquired chromosome abnormalities

hirsc003@umn.edu

612-273-4952

Kirkpatrick, David 

The role of DNA repair and recombination in maintaining genome stability

dkirkpat@umn.edu

612-624-9244

Koob, Michael

Human Genetics

koobx001@umn.edu

612-626-4521

Lanier, Lorene 

Axon guidance and growth cone motility

lanie002@umn.edu

612-626-2399

Marahrens, York 

Chromatin, Genome Instability, DNA Repair, Repetitive DNA Sequences, Bioinformatics

marah005@umn.edu

612-625-6201

McLoon, Steven 

Stem cells for therapeutic retinal cell replacement and progenitor cell maturation in retinal development

mcloons@umn.edu

612-624-9182

Nakagawa, Yasushi 

Mammalian brain development, cell type specification and establishment of neuronal connectivity

nakagawa@umn.edu

612-626-4916

Odde, David 

Mechanisms by which cells grow and divide

oddex002@umn.edu

 

Olszewski, Neil 

Function of O-GlcNAc protein modification in growth and development, molecular genetics of plant DNA viruses

neil@umn.edu

612-625-3129

Rougvie, Ann 

Developmental timing in C. elegans: from microRNAs to nutritional cues

rougv001@umn.edu

612-624-4708

Schottel, Janet

Desiccation stress, viable but non-culturable cells, biofilms, mRNA stability, plant-pathogen interactions

schot002@umn.edu

612-624-6275

Shima, Naoko 

Uses the laboratory mouse as a model to understand a causative link between chromosome instability and cancer

shima023@umn.edu

612-626-7830

Skubitz, Amy

Discovery and validation of biomarkers for ovarian cancer

skubi002@umn.edu

612-625-5920

Steer, Clifford 

Non-viral gene therapy using nanocapsules and the Sleeping Beauty (SB) transposon; antiapoptosis of neurodegenerative disorders using ursodeoxycholic acid as a therapeutic drug; genomic methylation changes associated with transposition of SB; and induced by microRNAs

steer001@umn.edu

612-625-8999