Scholarships for Incoming Freshmen

First-year students are automatically considered for the CBS scholarships listed below. 

Biological Sciences Alumni Society (BSAS) Freshman Merit Scholarship

The College of Biological Sciences Freshman Scholarship is a one-year award of $1000. The award recognizes incoming first year students with outstanding achievements in high school. This award is made possible by annual gifts from CBS alumni and friends.

Robert Buck and Cheryl L. Quinn Scholarship

This scholarship was established by Robert Buck (B.S. biology, '82) and Cheryl Quinn (B.S. Biochemistry and Microbiology, '85). Buck earned a Ph.D. in statistics from the University of London and Quinn earned a Ph.D. in biochemistry from the University of Illinois and did postdoctoral research at Oxford University. They are both independent consultants. Buck works with pharmaceutical and biotechnology companies. This scholarship benefits undergraduate students who are academic achievers and have financial need.

Elde-Baskin Scholarship in Biology

Robert Elde and Bonnie Baskin are biologists with a long-standing passion for creating access for high quality education in the sciences for all. Elde served as dean of the College of Biological Sciences from 1995 to 2014, as well as the J.B. Johnston Land Grant Professor of Neuroscience. Baskin was the founder and chief executive officer of two biotechnology companies. The scholarship was established to support a promising undergraduate student entering the College of Biological Sciences who demonstrates high academic ability.

David Grantham Burbee Memorial Scholarship

Clark Burbee (Ph.D., Agricultural Economics, '72) established this award to honor the memory of his son David, who earned a B.S. in biochemistry from CBS in 1977. David went onto Cornell University and had a successful career in biochemistry and human genetics. He died in 2005 at the age of 55. This scholarship supports undergraduate biochemistry students who have demonstrated financial need or hardship.

Denneth C. and Joan L. Dvergsten Scholarship

Denneth received M.A. and Ph.D. degrees in education from the University of Minnesota in 1956 and 1971, respectively. He was a distinguished science teacher in the Roseville school district for may years. He was the first president of the Minnesota Science Teachers Association and was selected Minnesota Teacher of the Year in 1975. From 1986 until his retirement in 1991, Denny served as director of outreach for the College of Biological Sciences. Joan Graduated from Mankato State University with a degree in elementary education. This scholarship reflects their lifelong, shared commitment to science education in Minnesota. It benefits promising students who are new to the College of Biological Sciences and have financial need.

Edward B. Lewis Memorial Scholarship

Nobel Laureate Edward B. Lewis earned a B.S. in biostatistics from the University of Minnesota in 1939 and a Ph.D. in genetics from the California Institute of Technology in 1942. He served on the Cal Tech faculty for his entire career. Known for establishing the field of developmental genetics, Lewis received the 1995 Nobel Prize in Medicine for his work on fruit fly genetics. His scholarship supports undergraduate students with strong academic ability and an interest in research.

Wayne and Sadie Luchsinger Scholarship

Wayne and Sadie Luchsinger created this scholarship to express appreciation fro the education they received at the University of Minnesota. Wayne earned B.S. ('51), M.S. ('55) and Ph.D. ('56) degrees in agricultural biochemistry, and Sadie earned an associate of arts degree. Wayne was a professor of biochemistry at Arizona State University for 35 years. This scholarship supports new undergraduate students with academic promise and an interest in biochemistry.

Richard C. Nelson Endowed Scholarship for Biochemistry

Alumnus Richard Nelson, who earned a B.S. in 1934 and a Ph.D. in biochemistry in 1937, was a biochemistry professor at Northwestern and Ohio State universities, and was successful in industry. His daughter, Sara Nelson Cook, created this scholarship to honor his memory and support high-achieving biochemistry students. 

Kien T. Nguyen and Julie A. Warren Scholarship

This scholarship was established by alumnus Kien Nguyen (B.S. Biology, '90) and his wife Julie Warren, who met at the University of Minnesota. They created the scholarship to express their gratitude for scholarships Kien received while attending the College of Biological Sciences. Kien, who earned a Ph.D. in neuroscience at the University of Colorado and an MBA form Columbia University, is an executive for a Texas biotechnology company.

Richard and Ethel Rapp Scholarship

C.J. Rapp Pittman established this fund in 2010 in honor of her parents. This scholarship supports students in CBS who are interested in medicine, medical research or neuroscience with special consideration given to veterans or members of ROTC.

Dr. Venkateswarlu Pothapragada and Family Undergraduate Scholarship

Dr. Venkateswarlu Pothapragada earned a Ph.D. in physiological chemistry and microbiology from the University of Minnesota in 1962, and became a research scientist for 3M. His family scholarship benefits new students at the College of Biological Sciences who show academic promise.

Richard and Ethel Rapp Scholarship

This scholarship is for NEW, fulltime undergraduate students in CBS who show academic promise and financial need. Preference will be given to students with an interest in medicine, medical research or neuroscience. Special consideration will be given to veterans or participants in ROTC.

Clare and Jerome Ritter Scholarship

Alumna Clare Ritter (M.S. Biochemistry, '72), who became a research scientist, and her husband, attorney Jerome Ritter, established this scholarship to assist new undergraduate students. The award supports efforts to diversity the student body of the college and goes to high potential students from greater Minnesota. 

Learn more about
Additional resources