You are here

Academic Faculty List

TRAINING FACULTY
Name
Research Short Description
Email
Phone
Adamala, Kate
We are combining top-down and bottom-up approaches to synthetic biology; we use tools of protein engineering and molecular biology, together with novel synthetic cell technologies, to understand and modulate biological processes in complex systems.
kadamala@umn.edu
612-625-9066
Aihara, Hideki
Molecular mechanisms of DNA rearrangement/recombination reactions
aihar001@umn.edu
612-624-1491
Albert, FrankWe study the genetics of complex traits: how variation in genome sequences influences individual molecular, cellular and organismal features. We also seek to understand the evolutionary forces that shape genomic diversity.falbert@umn.edu612-301-1243
Anderson, Grant
*Located on the Duluth campus
Thyroid Hormone, Brain Development, Blood Brain Barrier, Drug Transport and Metabolism, Lipid Metabolism
ander163@d.umn.edu
218-726-6007
Andrews, Matthew
*Located on the Duluth campus
Characterization of genes responsible for the induction and maintenance of hibernation in mammals
mandrews@d.umn.edu
218-726-7271
Armitage, IanDevelopment and application of state-of-the-art multinuclear, multidimensional magnetic resonance methods to elucidate the structure, dynamics and mechanism of action of biological macromolecules.armit001@umn.edu 612-624-5977
Arriaga, Edgar
Develops novel techniques that are then used in measurements of subcellular compartments (organelles). The results are useful for evaluating drug drugs as they enter biological cells, monitoring subcellular changes associated with disease or aging, and measuring zeptomole (10-21 mole) amounts.
arriaga@umn.edu
612-626-1663
Bardwell, Vivian
Transcriptional regulation in cancer and development
bardw001@umn.edu
612-626-7028
Bernlohr, David
Mechanism of insulin action; regulation of gene expression by lipids, oxidative stress and obesity; adipose biology
bernl001@umn.edu
612-624-2712
Bielinsky, Anja-Katrin
Regulation of DNA replication, cell cycle, S phase checkpoint, cancer.
bieli003@umn.edu
612-624-2469
Blazar, Bruce
Developmental mechanisms, neuroscience, and regulation of gene expression
blaza001@umn.edu
612-626-2734
Blekhman, Ran
Population, evolutionary, and medical genomics; understanding how human genetic variation affects phenotypic diversity and complex disease; computational genomics and metagenomics
blekhman@umn.edu
612-624-4092
Bond, Daniel
Physiology and functional genomics of dissimilatory Fe(III)-reducing bacteria; Microbial fuel cells; Engineering of bacteria to interact with electrodes and produce bioproducts
dbond@umn.edu
612-624-8619
Carlson, ErinDiscovery of the master regulators of bacterial growth and communication and ultimately, the identification of new antibiotics through the application of diverse tools at the interface of chemistry and biology. carlsone@umn.edu612-625-2580
Carter, Clay
Plant Molecular and Cellular Biology
cjcarter@umn.edu
612-301-7158
Chen, Lihsia
Cell adhesion, signal transduction, cytoskeleton, and C. elegans.
chenx260@umn.edu
612-625-1299
Chen, Yue
Functional proteomics and protein posttranslational modification networks in diseases
yuechen@umn.edu
612-626-3340
Clarke, Benjamin
*Located on the Duluth campus
Immunoendocrinology, with an emphasis on the role of neuroendocrine peptide hormones as autocrine regulators of immune function
bclarke@d.umn.edu
218-726-6587
Clarke, Duncan
Yeast and Human Cell Cycle Control
clark140@umn.edu
612-624-3442
Conner, Sean
Clathrin-mediated endocytosis; mammalian intracellular membrane trafficking.
sdconner@umn.edu
612-625-3707
Cormier, Robert
*Located on the Duluth campus
Identification and characterization of susceptibility genes for colorectal cancer including analysis of both human cancer tissues and mouse models of colorectal cancer (CRC)
rcormier@d.umn.edu
218-726-8625
Courtemanche, NaomiStructure, assembly and dynamics of actin-based cytoskeletal networkncourtem@umn.edu612-624-3195
Dehm, Scott
Nuclear receptors, transcription, gene expression, prostate cancer
dehm@umn.edu
612-625-1504
Dong, Zigang
Tumor promoter-induced signal transduction pathways and their role in the process of neoplastic cell transformation, carcinogenesis, and cancer prevention
dongx004@umn.edu
507-437-5600
Drewes, Lester
*Located on the Duluth campus
Molecular characterization of the blood-brain barrier/neurovascular unit with an emphasis on nutrient and drug transport in health and disease. 
ldrewes@d.umn.edu
218-726-7925
Echeverri, Karen
Molecular and cellular mechanisms of regeneration. 
echev020@umn.edu
612-626-7320
Elias, MikaelCellular phosphate uptake and bacterial virulence, chemical bonds to phenotypes, Molecular engineering of enzymes and biotechnological applicationsmhelias@umn.edu612-626-1915
Engelhart, Aaron
The research in the Engelhart laboratory is directed towards better understanding nucleic acid folding and function in order to advance two broad themes: 1) the development of novel nucleic acid-based imaging, analytical, and diagnostic technologies and 2) the elucidation of unanticipated roles for nucleic acids in vivo.
enge0213@umn.edu
612-625-1950
Ervasti, James
Molecular Basis of Muscular Dystrophy; Role of Actin in Cell Polarity
jervasti@umn.edu
612-626-6517
Farrar, Michael
Signal transduction and lymphocyte development
farra005@umn.edu
612-625-0401
Ferrington, Deborah
Molecular mechanisms of aging; age-related degenerative diseases and loss of skeletal muscle function; macular degeneration 
ferri013@umn.edu
612-624-8267
Freeman, MichaelNatural product biosynthesis, Microbial genetics, Targeted metagenomicsmffreema@umn.edu612-624-8575
Gordon, Wendy
Mechanotransduction, x-ray crystallography, single molecule force spectroscopy, Regulated Intramembrane Proteolysis, cell signaling assays, protein labeling
wrgordon@umn.edu
612-301-1196
Gammill, Laura
Cytoskelton and Cell Motility, developmental mechanisms, neuroscience, and regulation of gene expression
gammi001@umn.edu
612-625-6158
Gardner, Melissa
Chromatin mechanics and dynamics; Quantitative fluorescence microscopy
klei0091@umn.edu
612-626-6760
Garry, Daniel
Regenerative medicine, cardiogenesis, and stem-cell biology.
garry@umn.edu
612-625-8988
Goldstrohm, AaronPrinciples and mechanisms that control expression of genesagoldstr@umn.edu612-626-7497
Gordon, WendyHow cell surface receptors convert signals from extracellular stimuli like mechanical force into a biological responsewrgordon@umn.edu612-301-1196
Gralnick, Jeffrey
Physiology of Shewanella; Geomicrobiology
gralnick@umn.edu
612-626-6496
Greenstein, David
Fundamental and fascinating developmental processes of meiosis and fertilization using C. elegans
green959@umn.edu
612-624-3955
Griffin, Timothy
The development and application of mass spectrometry-based tools to study proteins and proteomes.
tgriffin@umn.edu
612-624-5249
Hallstrom, Tim
Understand how Rb/E2F1 mediated apoptosis is regulated in normal and cancer cells so it can be manipulated for therapeutic purposes, contributing to impactful and innovative approaches to the treatment of cancer
halls026@umn.edu
612-626-2905
 
Harki, Daniel
Focuses on the design, synthesis and biophysical characterization of novel small molecules that influence cellular function.
daharki@umn.edu
612-625-8687
Harris, Reuben
The causes and consequences of programmed mutagenesis
rsh@umn.edu
612-624-0457
Hays, Thomas
Cytosckelton and cell motility, developmental mechanisms
haysx001@umn.edu
612-626-2949
Hendrickson, Eric
Mechanisms of mammalian DNA double-strand break repair
hendr064@umn.edu
612-624-5988
Hinderliter, Anne
*Located on the Duluth campus
Membrane-localized phenomena
ahinderl@d.umn.edu
218-726-7062
Hogquist, Kristin
Molecular mechanism of cell-fate determination in T cells
hogqu001@umn.edu
612-625-1616
Igarashi, Peter
Kidney development, transcriptional regulation, microRNAs, primary cilia, polycystic kidney disease (PKD)
igarashi@umn.edu
612-625-3654
Jameson, Stephen
Development, homeostasis and trafficking of T lymphocytes
james024@umn.edu
612-625-1496
Kalodimos, CharalamposDetermination of the structural and dynamic basis for the function and assembly of large protein machineries; and the determination of the role of the internal protein dynamics in regulating protein activity and allosteric interactionsckalodim@umn.edu612-625-1166
Katagiri,  Fumiaki
Systems biology of plant disease resistance
katagiri@umn.edu
612-624-5195
Kaufman, Dan
Developmental mechanisms, cell-cell interactions, and regulation of gene expression
kaufm020@umn.edu
612-624-0922
Kawakami, Yasuhiko
Understanding the molecular and genetic mechanisms of vertebrate limb development and apply the study to elucidate the mechanisms of congenital limb in human and limb regeneration
kawak005@umn.edu
612-626-9935
Kazlauskas, Romas 
Protein engineering, catalytic promiscuity, enantioselectivity
rjk@umn.edu
612-624-5904
Khodursky, Arkady
Functional genomics, analysis of gene expression patterns, whole genome microarrays
khodu001@umn.edu
612-625-3799
Kikyo, Nobuaki
Nuclear reprogramming in somatic cell nuclear cloning and stem cells
kikyo001@umn.edu
612-624-0498
Kim, Do-Hyung
Biological networks that coordinate metabolism and growth
dhkim@umn.edu
612-626-3418
Knights, DanOur computational microbiology lab develops methods that bring precision medicine to the microbiome. We apply those methods to find patterns in microbial communities that predict and diagnose human diseases, and we use those patterns to develop novel therapeutics and diagnostics.dknights@umn.edu 
Koepp, Deanna
Cell cycle regulation, Ubiquitination and proteolysis, Genetic mechanisms of tumorigenesis
koepp015@umn.edu
612-624-4201
Kyba, Michael
Stem Cell Biology: regulatory pathways, diseases and therapies Transcriptional control of mesoderm development
kyba@umn.edu
612-626-5869
Langlois, RyanImmunity to influenza virus infectionslanglois@umn.edu612-625-3633
Largaespada, David
Identification and understanding of genes involved in cancer development
larga002@umn.edu
612-626-4979
Levinson, NicholasHow protein-protein interactions induce conformational changes at a distance, a phenomenon termed allosterynml@umn.edu612-301-1322
Li, Fang
Study the structural basis for receptor recognition mechanisms of viruses and for tumor growth and invasion.
lifang@umn.edu
612-625-6149
Lipscomb, John
Oxygenases and metalloproteins; magnetic resonance techniques, kinetics
lipsc001@umn.edu
612-625-6454
Luxton, G.W. Gant
Nuclear cell biology; specifically nuclear-cytoskeletal interactions; their formation, regulation and dysfunction in disease
luxto003@umn.edu
612-624-8343
Ly, Hinh
Structure-function studies of Lassa fever viral proteins that mediate viral replication and host immune evasion
hly@umn.edu
612-625-3358
Mansky, Kim
Focus on signaling and transcriptional mechanisms that regulate osteoclast differentiation
kmansky@umn.edu
612-626-5582
Mansky, Lou
Cell and molecular biology of HIV and HTLV
mansky@umn.edu
612-626-5525
Mashek, DouglasCharacterizing the alterations in metabolism that define diseases such as fatty liver disease and Type 2 Diabetesdmashek@umn.edu612-626-2904
Mayo, Kevin
Structure-based Drug Design and Discovery
mayox001@umn.edu
612-625-9968
McIvor, R Scott
Gene therapy for genetic disease and cancer using viral and non-viral vectors
mcivo001@umn.edu
612-626-1497
McLoon, Linda
Craniofacial muscles in health and disease
mcloo001@umn.edu
612-626-0777
Metzger, Joseph
Integrative systems biology of cardiovascular function, Cardiac genetic engineering and experimental cardia gene therapy
metzgerj@umn.edu
612-625-8296
Moriarity, Branden
My lab works on pediatric cancer genetics, immunotherapy, and gene therapy using cutting edge technologies, including DNA transposons, TALENs, and CRISPR/Cas9
mori0164@umn.edu
612-625-2226
Murphy, Sharon
Carcinogen and nicotine metabolism by P450 2A enzymes and UDP-glucuronsyl transferases
murph062@umn.edu
612-624-7633
Myers, ChadComputational biology and functional genomics - Machine learning for integrating diverse genomic data to make inferences about biological networkscmyers@cs.umn.edu612-624-8306
Nakato,  Hiroshi
Molecular and genetic analysis of Drosophila development
nakat003@umn.edu
612-625-1727
Nelsestuen, Gary
Proteomics; Biomarker Discovery; Blood Coagulation Enzymology; Protein-Membrane
nelse002@umn.edu
612-624-3622
Neufeld, Thomas
Developmental control of growth and cell proliferation in Drosophila
neufe003@umn.edu
612-625-5158
O'Connor, Michael
Cell-cell interactions in growth, differentiation, and development
moconnor@umn.edu
612-626-0642
Orr, HarryMolecular genetics of neurodegenerative diseases, principally the autosomal dominant form of spinocerebellar ataxia (SCA1)orrxx002@umn.edu612-625-3647
Parker, LaurieUsing chemical biology to develop techniques for measuring protein activities inside living cells.llparker@umn.edu612-624-9066
Perlingeiro, Rita
Mechanisms controlling lineage decision and reprogramming, and application to regenerative medicine
perli032@umn.edu
612-625-4984
Porter, Mary
Regulation of dynein-based motility
porte001@umn.edu
612-626-1901
Potter,  Lincoln
Signal transduction, natriuretic peptides, guanylyl cyclase receptors and cGMP
potter@umn.edu
612-624-7251
Que, Lawrence
Chemical Biology, Environmental chemistry, Inorganic chemistry
larryque@umn.edu
612-625-0389
Sadowsky, Michael
Environmental Microbiology, bioremediation, biodegration, host-microbe-interactions, water microbiology
sadowsky@umn.edu
612-624-2706
Sanders, Michel
Estrogen, Androgen, Transcription
sande001@umn.edu
612-624-9637
Schmidt, Daniel
Our group invents and applies protein engineering technologies to study fundamental functional principles of natural and artificial living systems at a cellular level
schmida@umn.edu
612-625-1180
Schmidt-Dannert, Claudia 
Natural product biosynthesis, evolutionary and rational protein design
schmi232@umn.edu
612-625-5782
Schottel, Janet
mRNA Stability; Plant-Pathogen Interactions; Gene Expression
schot002@umn.edu
612-624-6275
Seelig, Burckhard
Biocatalysis, Directed Evolution, Protein Enzymes
seeliq@umn.edu
612-626-6281
Shimizu, Yoji
Lymphocyte and tumor cell adhesion, migration and signal transduction
shimi002@umn.edu
612-626-6849
Simon, Jeffrey
Animal development; control of gene expression; chromatin mechanisms
simon004@umn.edu
612-626-5097
Sivaramakrishnan, Sivaraj (Shiv)Protein acrobatics - Study of protein function via protein engineering; Focus on cell signaling and motor proteinssivaraj@umn.edu612-301-1537
Smanski, MichaelNatural products discovery in the post-genomics era, Precision engineering of diverse bacterial speciessmanski@umn.edu612-624-9752
Sobeck, Alexandra
Cellular mechanisms of maintaining genomic stability; DNA damage response during chromosomal replication
asobeck@umn.edu
612-624-1343
Somia, Nikunj
My laboratory is interested in understanding the lifecycle of retroviruses and use this information 1) to identify new drug targets for HIV, 2) to develop better vectors for gene therapy and 3) to use these vectors for gene discovery.
somia001@umn.edu
612-625-6988
Song, GuishengMy research focuses mainly on the roles of microRNAs in the pathogenesis of non-alcoholic fatty liver disease (NAFLD), obesity, insulin resistance and liver cancer, with the goal to develop novel therapeutic approaches for these disorders.gsong@umn.edu612-624-9961
Starr, Tim
Understanding the genatics of cancer in order to develop individualized, targeted therapies
star0044@umn.edu
612-626-6971
Thomas, David
Molecular dynamics of muscle contraction and disease, using site-directed spectroscopic probes
ddt@umn.edu
612-625-0957
Titus, Margaret
Molecular genetic analysis of unconventional myosin function
titus004@umn.edu
612-625-8498
Tolar, Jakub
Stem cell gene therapy
tolar003@umn.edu
612-626-5501
Tretyakova, Natalia
Chemical carcinogenesis, biological mass spectrometry
trety001@umn.edu
612-626-3432
Van Ness, Brian
Cancer transgenic mouse models and pharmacogenomics
vanne001@umn.edu
612-624-9944
Veglia, Gianluigi
Structure and dynamics of membrane embedded enzymes
vegli001@umn.edu
612-625-0758
Voytas, Daniel
Plant genome engineering through homologous recombination; Retrotransposable elements and genome organization
voytas@umn.edu
612-626-4509
Wackett, Lawrence
Microbial catabolic enzymology/functional genomics: fundamental biological mechanisms, enzyme evolution and biotechnology 
wacke003@umn.edu
612-625-3785
Wallace, Kendall
*Located on the Duluth campus
Mechanisms by which foreign chemicals, including drugs and industrial and environmental pollutants, interfere with mitochondrial metabolism and genetics to bring about various metabolic diseases
kwallace@d.umn.edu
218-726-8899
Whitley, Chester
Pediatric Genetics and Metabolism
whitley@umn.edu
612-625-7422
Wilmot, Carrie
Structural enzymology; metal icons & organic co-factors; Alzheimer's disease
wilmo004@umn.edu
612-624-2406
Yamamoto, Masato
Cancer gene-therapy and virotherapy
yamam016@umn.edu
612-624-9131
Yong, Jeongsik
Function of RNA-binding proteins and non-coding RNAs in post transcriptional gene regulation mechanisms
jyong@umn.edu
612-626-2420
Zarkower, David
Molecular genetics of sexual differentiation, germ cell development, and testis cancer
zarko001@umn.edu
612-625-9450