Biology Teaching and Learning

The Department of Biology Teaching and Learning (BTL) acts as a University of Minnesota nexus for evidence-based teaching, research on effective pedagogies, and public engagement in biology.

Get to know the members of BTL below, or click here to learn more about former members of the department.


 

Aziz Arabkhazaeli, Senior Lab Services Coordinator

Phone:
612-625-8917
Email:
arabk001@umn.edu

Sarah Borgen, Senior Lab Services Coordinator

Phone:
612-625-6064
Email:
neilx003@umn.edu

Ashley Breiland, Lab Services Coordinator

Email:
Breiland

Robert Brooker, Professor

Phone:
612-624-3053
Email:
brook005@umn.edu

Linh Chau, Postdoctoral Associate

Email:
lchau@umn.edu

Abby Conover, Coordinator of Undergraduate Initiatives

Phone:
612-625-7799
Email:
aconover@umn.edu

Sehoya Cotner, Associate Professor

Phone:
612-626-2385
Email:
sehoya@umn.edu

Mark Decker, Teaching Associate Professor, Associate Head of the Department of Biology Teaching + Learning

Email:
decker@umn.edu

Brittany Eich, Education Program Specialist - Nature of Life Program

Email:
eichx020@umn.edu

Adam Engelhardt, Assistant Education Specialist

Phone:
612-626-2545
Email:
enge0339@umn.edu

Mark Galatowitsch, Lab Services Coordinator

Phone:
612-626-6687
Email:
galat002@umn.edu

Brian Gibbens, Teaching Assistant Professor

Email:
gibbens@umn.edu

Stephanie Grieb, Education Program Associate 2

Email:
sgrieb@umn.edu

Geri Grosinger, Student Services Specialist

Phone:
612-625-2532
Email:
gmgrosin@umn.edu

Ngoc Ha, Senior Laboratory Technician

Phone:
612-625-8187
Email:
haxxx107@umn.edu

Sadie Hebert, Research Project Specialist

Phone:
612-625-1230
Email:
sjhebert@umn.edu

Becky Hippert, Administrative Associate

Phone:
612-625-2425
Email:
hippe003@umn.edu

Michael Jarcho, Senior Lab Services Coordinator

Phone:
612-624-6375
Email:
jarch001@umn.edu

Murray Jensen, Associate Professor

Email:
msjensen@umn.edu

Mark Jokinen, Data Analyst

Phone:
jokin010@umn.edu

Peter Kennedy, Associate Professor

Phone:
612-624-8519
Email:
kennedyp@umn.edu

John Kettinger, Senior Lab Services Coordinator

Phone:
612-624-2296
Email:
ketti001@umn.edu

Catherine Kirkpatrick, Teaching Associate Professor

Phone:
612-625-3737
Email:
cakirkpa@umn.edu

David Kirkpatrick, Associate Professor, Head of Biology Teaching & Learning

Phone:
612-624-9244
Email:
dkirkpat@umn.edu

Maxwell Kramer, Teaching Assistant Professor

Phone:
612-625-2532
Email:
kram0247@umn.edu

Petra Kranzfelder, Postdoctoral Associate

Email:
kranz081@umn.edu

Sarah Malmquist, Teaching Assistant Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies - Cellular and Organismal Physiology Major

Email:
malm0070@umn.edu

Sandy Mand, Coordinator of CBS Instructional Labs

Phone:
612-626-2821
Email:
sandym@umn.edu

David Matthes, Teaching Professor

Phone:
612-626-5474
Email:
dmatthes@umn.edu

Randy Moore, Professor

Phone:
612-626-4458
Email:
rmoore@umn.edu

Anna Mosser, Teaching Assistant Professor

Phone:
612-625-0104
Email:
amosser@umn.edu

Lorelei Patrick, Postdoctoral Associate

Email:
lpatrick@umn.edu

Vanessa Pompei, Associate Education Specialist

Phone:
612-626-2544
Email:
pomp0012@umn.edu

Kristina Prescott, Assistant Education Specialist

Email:
presc030@umn.edu

Tamar Resnick, Teaching Assistant Professor and Associate Director of Undergraduate Studies - Biology Major

Email:
resni030@umn.edu

Gillian Roehrig, Professor of Science Education, Associate Director of STEM Education Center

Phone:
612-625-0561
Email:
roehr013@umn.edu

Melissa (Missy) Rudeen, Senior Lab Services Coordinator

Phone:
612-624-3022
Email:
ryne0008@umn.edu

Leslie Schiff, Professor, Associate Dean for University Curriculum, Director of Undergraduate Studies - Microbiology Major

Phone:
612-625-8653
Email:
schif002@umn.edu

Anita Schuchardt, Assistant Professor

Email:
aschucha@umn.edu

Cheryl Scott, Assistant Education Specialist

Phone:
612-625-9048
Email:
scot0136@umn.edu

Meaghan Stein, Education Success and Retention Coordinator

Phone:
612-626-9330
Email:
mestein@umn.edu

Abdi Warfa, Assistant Professor

Email:
awarfa@umn.edu

Deena Wassenberg, Teaching Associate Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies - Biology Major

Phone:
612-626-2760
Email:
deenaw@umn.edu

Sue Wick, Professor

Email:
swick@umn.edu

Charles Willis, Assistant Education Specialist

Email:
will1278@umn.edu

Robin Wright, Professor

Email:
wrightr@umn.edu