You are here

MPGI Member Directory

There are 99 faculty members which make up the Microbial and Plant Genomics Institute. These faculty come from four colleges and nineteen departments. They are split between 78 Full members and 21 Associate members.

Full Members

Name Title Department/Institute E-mail
Frank Albert Assistant Professor Genetics, Cell Biology and Development falbert@umn.edu
James Anderson Professor Agronomy and Plant Genetics ander319@umn.edu
Neil Anderson Professor Horticultural Science ander044@umn.edu
Jake Bailey  Associate Professor CSENG Earth Sciences baileyj@umn.edu
Brett Barney Associate Professor Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering bbarney@umn.edu
David Baumler Assistant Professor Food Science and Nutrition dbaumler@umn.edu
Jannell Bazurto Assistant Professor Plant and Microbial Biology jbazurto@umn.edu
Ran Blekhman Associate Professor Genetics, Cell Biology and Development blekhman@umn.edu
Daniel Bond Professor BioTechnology Institute dbond@umn.edu
James Bradeen Professor, Department Head Plant Pathology jbradeen@umn.edu
Yaniv Brandvain Assistant Professor Plant and Microbial Biology ybrandva@umn.edu
Kathryn Bushley Assistant Professor Plant and Microbial Biology kbushley@umn.edu
Clay Carter Associate Professor Plant and Microbial Biology cjcarter@umn.edu
Changbin Chen Associate Professor Horticultural Science chenx481@umn.edu
Jerry Cohen Professor Horticultural Science cohen047@umn.edu
Kyle Costa Assistant Professor Plant and Microbial Biology kcosta@umn.edu
Anath Das Professor Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Biophysics dasxx002@umn.edu
Gary Dunny Professor BioTechnology Institute dunny001@umn.edu
Mikael Elias Assistant Professor Biochemistry, Molecular Biology & Biophysics mhelias@umn.edu
Kathryn Fixen Assistant Professor Plant and Microbial Biology kfixen@umn.edu
Michael Freeman Assistant Professor Biochemistry, Molecular Biology & Biophysics mffreema@umn.edu
David Garvin Adjunct Professor Agronomy and Plant Genetics garvi007@umn.edu
Sue Gibson Professor Plant and Microbial Biology gibso043@umn.edu
Jane Glazebrook Professor Plant and Microbial Biology jglazebr@umn.edu
Andres Gomez Assistant Professor Animal Science gomeza@umn.edu
Jeffrey Gralnick Professor BioTechnology Institute, Plant and Microbial Biology gralnick@umn.edu
William (Bill) Gray Professor Plant and Microbial Biology grayx051@umn.edu
Jessica Gutknecht Assistant Professor Soil, Water, and Climate jgut@umn.edu
Trinity Hamilton Assistant Professor BioTechnology Institute, Plant and Microbial Biology trinityh@umn.edu
William Harcombe Assistant Professor BioTechnology Institute, Ecology, Evolution and Behavior harcombe@umn.edu
Adrian Hegeman Professor Horticultural Science, Plant and Microbial Biology hegem007@umn.edu
Candice Hirsch Associate Professor Agronomy and Plant Genetics cnhirsch@umn.edu
Cory Hirsch Assistant Professor Plant Pathology cdhirsch@umn.edu
Ryan Hunter Assistant Professor Microbiology and Immunology rchunter@umn.edu
Wei-Shou Hu Professor Chemical Engineering and Material Sciences wshu@umn.edu
Satoshi Ishii Associate Professor BioTechnology Institute, Soil, Water and Climate ishi0040@umn.edu
Carol Ishimaru Professor Plant Pathology cishimar@umn.edu
Tim Johnson Associate Professor Veterinary and Biomedical Sciences joh04207@umn.edu
Fumiaki Katagiri Professor Plant and Microbial Biology katagiri@umn.edu
Romas Kazlauskas Professor Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Biophysics rjk@umn.edu
Peter Kennedy Associate Professor Plant and Microbial Biology kennedyp@umn.edu
Arkady Khodursky Associate Professor Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Biophsyics khodu001@umn.edu
Shahryar Kianian Adjunct Professor USDA-ARS Cereal Disease Laboratory and Dept. of Plant Pathology Shahryar.Kianian@ars.usda.gov
H. Corby Kistler Adjunct Professor Plant Pathology hckist@umn.edu
Dan Knights Associate Professor Biotechnology Institute, Computer Science and Engineering dknights@umn.edu
Pete Lefebvre Emeritus Professor Plant & Microbial Biology pete@umn.edu
Amelia Lindsey Assistant Professor Entomology alindsey@umn.edu
Aaron Lorenz Associate Professor Agronomy and Plant Genetics lore0149@umn.edu
David Marks Professor Plant and Microbial Biology marks004@umn.edu
Molly McCue Professor, Associate Dean for Research Veterinary Population Medicine mccu0173@umn.edu
Suzanne McGaugh Assistant Professor Ecology, Evolution and Behavior smcgaugh@umn.edu
Dave Moeller Associate Professor Plant and Microbial Biology moeller@umn.edu
Peter Morrell Associate Professor Agronomy and Plant Genetics pmorrell@umn.edu
Gary Muehlbauer Professor Agronomy and Plant Genetics muehl003@umn.edu
Chad Myers Professor Computer Science and Engineering chadm@umn.edu
Min Ni Professor Plant and Microbial Biology nixxx008@umn.edu
Thomas Niehaus Assistant Professor Plant and Microbial Biology tniehaus@umn.edu
Daniel O'Sullivan Professor Food Science and Nutrition dosulliv@umn.edu
Neil Olszewski Professor Plant and Microbial Biology neil@umn.edu
Phil Pardey Professor Applied Economics ppardey@umn.edu
Ronald L. Phillips Regents Professor Agronomy and Plant Genetics phill005@umn.edu
Howard Rines Adjunct Professor Emeritus Agronomy and Plant Genetics rines001@umn.edu
Michael Sadowsky Professor, Department Head BioTechnology Institute sadowsky@umn.edu
Deborah Samac Adjunct Professor Plant Pathology dasamac@umn.edu
Cara Santelli Associate Professor BioTechnology Institute, Earth Sciences santelli@umn.edu
Jonathan Schilling Professor Plant and Microbial Biology schillin@umn.edu
Claudia Schmidt-Dannert Distinguished McKnight Professor Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Biophysics schmi232@umn.edu
Janet Schottel Professor Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Biophysics schot002@umn.edu
Laura Shannon Assistant Professor Horticultural Science lmshannon@umn.edu
Carolyn Silflow Professor Emeritus Plant & Microbial Biology silfl001@umn.edu
Kevin Silverstein Scientific Lead, RIS Informatics Analyst Minnesota Supercomputing Institute kats@umn.edu
Michael Smanski Assistant Professor Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, and Biophysics smanski@umn.edu
Alan G. Smith Professor Horticultural Science smith022@umn.edu
Kevin P. Smith Professor Agronomy and Plant Genetics smith376@umn.edu
Emilie Snell-Rood Associate Professor Evolution, Ecology, and Behavior emilies@umn.edu
Nathan Springer Professor Plant and Microbial Biology springer@umn.edu
Robert Stupar Associate Professor Agronomy and Plant Genetics stup0004@umn.edu
Peter Tiffin Professor, Department Head Plant and Microbial Biology ptiffin@umn.edu
Dan Voytas Professor Genetics, Cell Biology and Development voytas@umn.edu
Lawrence Wackett Professor Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Biophysics wacke003@umn.edu
John Ward Professor Plant and Microbial Biology jward@umn.edu
Ya Yang Assistant Professor Plant and Microbial Biology yangya@umn.edu
Nevin Young Professor Plant Pathology neviny@umn.edu
Feng Zhang Assistant Professor Plant and Microbial Biology zhangumn@umn.edu

Associate Members

Name Title Department/Institute E-mail
Allan, Deborah Professor Soil, Water and Climate dallan@umn.edu
Andow, David Professor Entomology dandow@umn.edu
Brooker, Robert Professor Genetics, Cell Biology and Development brook005@umn.edu
Carson, Martin Adjunct Professor Plant Pathology mcarson@umn.edu
Denison, Ford Adjunct Professor Ecology, Evolution and Behavior denis036@umn.edu
Fahrenkrug, Scott Professor Animal Science fahre001@umn.edu
Fallon, Ann Professor Entomology fallo002@umn.edu
Foster, Douglas Professor Animal Science foste001@umn.edu
Jones, Robert Senior Vice President System Academic Administrations jones012@umn.edu
Jordan, Nicholas Professor Agronomy and Plant Genetics jorda020@umn.edu
Kaznessis, Yiannis Professor Chemical Engineering  yiannis@umn.edu
Kurtti, Timothy Professor Entomology kurtt001@umn.edu
Lanyon, Scott Vice Provost, Dean of Grauduate Education Ecology, Evolution and Behavior lanyo001@umn.edu
Lorenz, Aaron Assistant Professor Agronomy & Plant Genetics lore0149@umn.edu
Milius, Robert Analyst Masonic Cancer Center milius@umn.edu
Ragsdale, David Professor Emeritus, Dept. Head Entomology, Texas A&M University ragsd001@umn.edu
Sanders, Mark Program Director University Imaging Center msanders@umn.edu
Tilman, David Professor Ecology, Evolution and Behavior tilman@umn.edu
Valentas, Kenneth Adjunct Professor Biotechnology Institute valen004@umn.edu
Wyse, Donald Professor Agronomy and Plant Genetics wysex001@umn.edu

Prospective Member Profiles


MPGI Publications Library


Links below open a .pdf of all yearly member publications.

2012
2013
2014
2015
2016
2017
2018