You are here

Plant and Microbial Biology

The Department of Plant and Microbial Biology conducts research that intersects with many critical areas within the biological sciences from genomics to evolution to biodiversity.


Use the filter below to sort by faculty, staff, postdocs and emeritus faculty.

trinityh@umn.edu

Our lab studies the functions and interactions of microorganisms in natural and engineered systems and how microbial communities respond and adapt to environmental change.

Fumiaki Katagiri, Professor

katagiri@umn.edu , 612-624-5195

Research in my group is directed towards understanding (1) how plants recognize pathogen attack and (2) how this recognition leads to induction of coordinated responses in plants.

Peter Kennedy, Associate Professor

kennedyp@umn.edu , 612-624-8519

My research interests include fungal ecology, plant-microbe interactions and symbioses.

Pete Lefebvre, Professor

pete@umn.edu , 612-624-4706

Research in my laboratory seeks to understand the assembly and function of the eukaryotic flagellum.

David Marks, Professor

marks004@umn.edu , 612-625-6737

Pennycress (Thlaspi arvense L.) is being developed as a new oilseed crop that can provide a feedstock for biodiesel and a winter cover that protects the environment. My goal is to develop varieties of pennycress optimized for Minneso

Georgiana May, Professor

gmay@umn.edu , 612-624-6737 Fax: 612-624-6777

My lab investigates the genetic and molecular basis of plants' evolutionary interactions with other organisms, especially fungi.

David Moeller, Associate Professor

moeller@umn.edu , 612-624-1037

Research in my lab examines the processes that promote and limit adaptive evolution at the phenotypic and molecular level.

Gary Muehlbauer, Distinguished McKnight Professor, Department Head

muehl003@umn.edu , 612- 624-2755

My research is focused on wheat and barley molecular genetics.

Min Ni, Professor

nixxx008@umn.edu , 612-625-3702

My lab is currently focused on two separate research areas: light-regulated de-etiolation and stomatal opening responses and Arabidopsis seed development.

Neil E. Olszewski, Professor

neil@umn.edu , 612-625-3129

My research interests include elucidating the role of posttranslational modification of nuclear and cytosolic proteins with O-linked N-acetylglucosamine (O-GlcNAc) in plant growth and development.