You are here

Plant and Microbial Biology

The Department of Plant and Microbial Biology conducts research that intersects with many critical areas within the biological sciences from genomics to evolution to biodiversity.


Use the filter below to sort by faculty, staff, postdocs and emeritus faculty.

Jennifer S. Powers, Associate Professor

powers@umn.edu , 612-625-5721 Fax: 612-624-6777

I use experimental and observational approaches to investigate and biogeochemical and ecosystem processes across local, regional, and global scales.

Jonathan Schilling, Professor

schillin@umn.edu , 612-624-4279

I study microbial decomposers, most often the fungi and their biology/biochemistry. 

Carolyn Silflow, Professor

silfl001@umn.edu , Phone: 612-624-0729

I study genes involved in replication, segregation, and localization of basal bodies in Chlamydomonas.

Nathan M. Springer, McKnight Presidential Endowed Professor

springer@umn.edu , Office: 612-624-6241 Lab: 612-624-6163

Members of the Springer lab work on projects designed to understand the sources of variation in crop plants and to create frameworks for crop improvement.

Peter Tiffin, Professor

ptiffin@umn.edu , 612-624-7406

Research in my lab is focused on understanding how biological interactions and environmental change affect plant evolution.

John M. Ward, Professor, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education

jward@umn.edu , 612-625-4763

In my lab, we are interested in the function of transporters, pumps, and channels in plants.

George Weiblen, Distinguished McKnight University Professor, Science Director & Herbarium Curator, Bell Museum

gweiblen@umn.edu , 612-624-3461

The Weiblen lab studies plant and insect systematics, molecular phylogenetics, population genetics, ecology and coevolution.

Sue Wick, Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies - Biology Major

swick@umn.edu

My research focuses on how team-based learning affects student success, as well as effective use of active learning spaces.

Ya Yang, Assistant Professor, Curator - University of Minnesota Herbarium

yangya@umn.edu , (612) 625-6292

The Yang Lab asks questions about the patterns and drivers of plant divergence and convergence.

Nevin Young, Distinguished McKnight Professor

neviny@umn.edu , (Office) 612-625-2225 (Lab) 612-625-2221

I use genomics to understand the genetic organization of legumes, the plant family that includes crops like soybean, pea, and alfalfa.