You are here

Plant and Microbial Biology

The Department of Plant and Microbial Biology conducts research that intersects with many critical areas within the biological sciences from genomics to evolution to biodiversity.


Use the filter below to sort by faculty, staff, postdocs and emeritus faculty.

Jennifer S. Powers, Associate Professor

powers@umn.edu , 612-625-5721 Fax: 612-624-6777

I use experimental and observational approaches to investigate and biogeochemical and ecosystem processes across local, regional, and global scales.

Michael Sadowsky, Professor, Head of the Biotechnology Institute

sadowsky@umn.edu , 612-624-2706

Jonathan Schilling, Associate Professor

schillin@umn.edu , 612-624-4279

I study microbial decomposers, most often the fungi and their biology/biochemistry.

Carolyn Silflow, Professor

silfl001@umn.edu , Phone: 612-624-0729

I study genes involved in replication, segregation, and localization of basal bodies in Chlamydomonas.

Nathan M. Springer, McKnight Presidential Endowed Professor

springer@umn.edu , Phone: 612-624-6241

My group uses a combination of classical genetics, molecular genetics and genomics approaches to study molecular variation and inheritance in maize.

Peter Tiffin, Professor

ptiffin@umn.edu , 612-624-7406

Research in my lab is focused on understanding how biological interactions and environmental change affect plant evolution.

John M. Ward, Professor, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education

jward@umn.edu , 612-625-4763

In my lab, we are interested in the function of transporters, pumps, and channels in plants.

George Weiblen, Distinguished McKnight University Professor, Interim Scientific Director, Bell Museum of Natural History

gweiblen@umn.edu , Phone: 612-624-3461

The Weiblen lab studies plant and insect systematics, molecular phylogenetics, population genetics, ecology and coevolution.

Sue Wick, Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies - Biology Major

swick@umn.edu

My research focuses on how team-based learning affects student success, as well as effective use of active learning spaces.

Ya Yang, Assistant Professor, Assistant Curator - University of Minnesota Herbarium

yangya@umn.edu

The Yang Lab asks questions about the patterns and drivers of plant divergence and convergence.