You are here


EEB graduate student Leslie Brandt received an NSF Dissertation Research grant to study "Photodegradation as an abiotic mechanism in the decomposition of surface litter." She is advised by Professor Jennifer King, faculty in Soil, Water and Climate, and EEB.

Congratulations to EEB graduate student Anna Mosser on having won a Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship for 2006-07.

Paul Gugger, EEB graduate student advised by Dr. Shinya Sugita is the recipient of the Elmer C. Birney Fellowship for 2006. Dr. Jacques Finlay received an NSF award on "Coupling consumer-resource interactions and nutrient spiraling in a stream network" that is part of a larger collaboration led by St. Olaf College. Anna Mosser, EEB graduate student, has received an NSF Doctoral Dissertation Research grant to study "Group territoriality of the African lion - Behavioral adaptation in a heterogeneous landscape." Anna is advised by Dr. Craig Packer.

Professor Ruth Shaw (EEB) and Dr. Stuart Wagenius (Chicago Botanic Garden and former EEB Ph.D. graduate student) received a five-year, $225,000 NSF grant on "Quantifying contributions of genetic and numerical dynamics to persistence of fragmented prairie populations of Echinacea angustifolia."

Professors Diane Larson and Sarah Hobbie (both EEB) received a three-year, $125,879 USDI Geological Survey grant to study "Control and restoration of sites infested with leafy spurge (Euphorbia esula)."

Professors Hans Othmer (Mathematics), Michael O'Connor (GCD), and Claudia Neuhauser (EEB) received $24,000 from the Digital Technology Center to develop a course in Quantitative Biology.

Katherine Phillips has been selected to receive the 2005 Award for Outstanding Performance as a Teaching Assistant for the College of Biological Sciences. Katherine is an EEB graduate student who is advised by Dr. Jim Cotner (EEB).

The Department of Ecology, Evolution and Behavior was invited to join the St. Anthony Falls Laboratory (SAFL) as an affiliated department. SAFL is a research laboratory at the University of Minnesota. EEB faculty are already involved with SAFL through the joint NSF IGERT grant and NCED. Formalizing this collaboration will provide additional opportunities for research and collaborations.

Professor Claudia Neuhauser has been awarded $1 million from the Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) to increase the math proficiency of CBS undergraduates, particularly their ability to use statistics to solve biological and environmental problems. This award is one of 20 given in the nation.

Professors Swackhammer (Environmental Health Sciences), Galatowitsch (Horticulture), Cotner (Ecology, Evolution and Behavior), and Sadowsky (Soil, Water and Climate) received a $92,335 USGS grant.

Drs. Jennifer King (Soil, Water and Climate and EEB) and Sarah Hobbie (EEB) received a $315,000, five-year NSF grant to study photodegradation of plant litter in grassland ecosystems.

Dr. Mark Bee, EEB, received a Grant-in-Aid of Research, Artistry and Scholarship award from the Graduate School for a study entitled "Auditory Scene Analysis and the 'Cocktail Party Problem' in Animal Acoustic Communication." Dr. Bee is a behavioral biologist who joined EEB in Fall 2005.

Meggan Craft, EEB graduate student was awarded a Sigma Xi Research grant to conduct research on disease outbreaks in the Serengeti Park in Tanzania, Africa. Meggan is advised by Dr. Craig Packer, EEB.

Meggan Craft, EEB graduate student, has been selected to receive the 2006 Carol A. and Wayne A. Pletcher Graduate Fellowship. This is a CBS endowed fellowship that supports Ph.D. graduate students in biology. Meggan is advised by Dr. Craig Packer, EEB.

Drs. Jim Cotner (EEB) and Kristopher McNeill (Chemistry) received a three-year, $615,188 NSF grant to study "Singlet Oxygen's Role in the Photochemical-Biochemical Degradation of Dissolved Organic Carbon."

Ed Hall, EEB graduate student, won the outstanding student poster award at this year's annual meeting of the American Society of Limnology and Oceanography. Ed is advised by Dr. Jim Cotner.

Dr. Joe McFadden's research  in urban ecology was featured in the St. Paul Pioneer Press on Sunday, July 31. His NASA funded study addresses the role of suburban plantings on air quality.

Drs. Diane Larson and Ruth Shaw (both EEB) received a U.S. Geological Survey grant of $18,587 to study "Evaluation of methods for Canada thistle-free habitat restoration."

Chris Clark, EEB graduate student, received an NSF Doctoral Dissertation Research Award on "Why plant communities shift after chronic nitrogen addition: The organic connection." Chris is advised by Professors David Tilman and Claudia Neuhauser.