You are here


EEB graduate student Emily Peters has been awarded an Interdisciplinary Doctoral Fellowship by the Graduate School. Emily will work at the Institute on the Environment with Dr. Tracy Twine.

Congratulations to Dustin Haines, Emily Love, Lisa O'Bryan, Gina Quiram, Megan Strauss, and Hernan Vazquez Miranda, all of whom were awarded Thesis Research Grants from the graduate school.

William Ratcliff has been awarded a Graduate School Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship for 2009-2010.

Congratulations to EEB graduate student Tom Giarla who was awarded the Birney Fellowship for Summer 2009. The Elmer C. Birney Fellowship provides support for one EEB graduate student during the summer .

Congratulations to EEB graduate students, Dominik Halas, Emily Love, and Ali Swanson! Dominik was awarded a NSF Doctoral Dissertation Improvement Grant, Emily Love was awarded a NSF Graduate Research Fellowship, and Ali Swanson was awarded a FLAS Fellowship.

Dr. Donald Alstad has been chosen to receive the Horace T. Morse-University of Minnesota Alumni Award for Outstanding Contributions to Undergraduate Education.

Congratulations to EEB graduate students John Stanton-Geddes and Rachel Putnam. John was awarded the Alexander and Lydia Anderson Fellowship and Rachel was awarded the Carolyn Crosby Fellowship.

Drs. Craig Packer and Steve Polasky have been selected by The Institute on the Environment to receive major funding from its Discovery Grants program. The Discovery Grants program is part of the Institute's high-impact investment strategy, which aims to accelerate innovation in environmental research and problem solving across the University of Minnesota. The announcement of the grant awardees follows a highly competitive selection process and awards between $400,000 and $800,000 to each.

The Institute on the Environment is pleased to announce its first cohort of resident fellows. The fellows will begin their three-year appointments with the Institute in June 2009. The EEB faculty name as resident fellows are: Drs. Jeannine Cavender-Bares, Clarence Lehman, Stephen Polasky, Jennifer Powers and David Tilman.

Dr. Jennifer Powers has been named as a 2009-2011 McKnight Land-Grant Professor.

EEB graduate program alum William Hilton, Jr. was named among "50 Best Brains in Science" in the latest edition of Discover magazine. Hilton graduated from the EEB Graduate Program in 1982 with an M.S. in ecology and behavioral science.

Graduate students Harriet Van Vleck and Dominik Halas have been awarded Thesis Research Grants from the Graduate School.

EEB graduate student Gina Quiram has been awarded the Pletcher Fellowship.

Regents' Professor Dr. David Tilman, has been named the 2008 recipient of the International Prize for Biology. Dave will receive a medal, a cash prize and a gift from Emperor Akihito of Japan in a ceremony in Tokyo on Dec. 8.

Dr. Scott Lanyon, former director of the Bell Museum of Natural History, has accepted the position of Head of the Department of Ecology, Evolution and Behavior.

Leslie Brandt, EEB graduate student advised by Dr. Jennifer King, has been selected as a fellow of the The National Academies' Christine Mirzayan Science and Technology Policy Fellowship Program for a 10 week session this fall in Washington, DC.

Dr. Bud Tordoff, professor emeritus in the Department of Ecology, Evolution and Behavior and former director of the Bell Museum, passed away on July 24, 2008 at St. Joseph's Hospital in St. Paul. Dr. Tordoff, who was 85, was known for leading efforts to restore the Midwest's peregrine falcon population, which was decimated by DDT use in the 1950s and 1960s. He is survived by his wife, Jean; sons Jeff and Jim; sisters Betty, Jean, Dona and Caryl, and three grandchildren.