You are here


EEB graduate students John Stanton-Geddes and Dominik Halas have been awarded a Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship for 2010-11 from the Graduate School.

Drs. Mark Borrello and Jeannine Cavender-Bares have been promoted to Associate Professorship.

Congratulations to Gina Quiram for being awarded the Elmer C. and Marcia F. Birney Fellowship for 2010.

Dr. Stephen Polasky has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences. The National Academy of Sciences is a private organization of scientists and engineers dedicated to the furtherance of science and its use for the general welfare.

Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences has awarded Dr. David Tilman the 2010 Heineken Prize for Environmental Sciences. The Academy said that Tilman received the prize "for the way in which he combines mathematical theories, laboratory research and field experiments to make a fundamental contribution to the science of ecology."

EEB graduate students Maga Gei, Dustin Haines, Ben Lowe, and Ali Swanson all have been awarded Thesis Research Grants from the Graduate School.

Congratulations to EEB Director of Graduate Studies, Dr. Andrew Simons on receiving the 2010 award for Best Director of Graduate Studies from the Graduate School!

Congratulations to EEB graduate students Andrea Bailey, Matt Dufort, Daniel Ndizgorski, Lisa O'Bryan, and Ali Swanson were awarded NSF Graduate Research Fellowships. Students Matt Kaiser, Emily Mohl, and Mike Wells received honorable mention awards.

Matt Burgess has been awarded a three-year fellowship from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada.

Bailey McKay was awarded a National Science Foundation Doctoral Dissertation Improvement Grant for the proposal "A multilocus, multi-species study of community assembly in an isolated fauna".

Paul Gugger was awarded the 2010 Hamm Memorial Graduate Student Scholarship.

Congratulations to EEB graduate students, Gina Quiram and Peter Wragg who have been awarded research grants from the Carolyn Crosby Fellowship competition and Amy Luxbacher and Rachel Putnam who were awarded research grants from the Alexander and Lydia Anderson Fellowship competition!

EEB graduate student Amy Luxbacher has been awarded a Louise T. Dosdall Fellowship for the 2010-2011 academic year.

Tom Giarla, Vinnie Hirt, and John Stanton-Geddes have all been awarded Thesis Research Grants by the Graduate School.

Margaret Kosmala has been awarded the Carol H. and Wayne A. Pletcher Graduate Fellowship for 2010

EEB graduate student Maga Gei was awarded a UNESCO-Loreal co-sponsored fellowship for young women in life sciences.