You are here

Call for nominations

The CBS Recognition Committee is soliciting nominations for the Stanley Dagley-Samuel Kirkwood Undergraduate Education Award and the John S. Anderson Leadership Award. Please consider nominating worthy faculty and staff for these awards. To do so, simply send a brief statement (1-2 paragraphs) describing why your nominee should be considered for either award to by Monday, March 3, 2014. The CBS Recognition Committee will review initial nominations and select those that should be more fully developed for final consideration. If your nominee is selected, you will be asked to help prepare the formal nomination.

Stanley Dagley-Samuel Kirkwood Undergraduate Award

This award acknowledges exceptional faculty contributions to undergraduate education including classroom presentation, educational innovation, and curriculum development.  It recognizes scholarly work with individual students on projects, in tutorials and other informal settings.  Understanding of academic advising is also considered a good aspect of teaching.  Some faculty members make particularly significant contributions through developing new courses, organizing or reorganizing curricular programs, or improving teaching methods and techniques.  The recipient of this award will have enhanced the lives of College of Biological Sciences students.


  1. Current (tenured or tenure-track) regular CBS or affiliated departments (i.e. Microbiology, Neuroscience) faculty members.  Non-tenure track instructors who meet professional criteria (e.g. a Ph.D. or equivalent degree) have substantial independent teaching responsibilities and who have demonstrated commitment to undergraduate education.
  2. At least five academic years at the University of Minnesota (including current year).
  3. Morse Alumni award winners are not eligible to win this award in the same year.
John S. Anderson Academic Leadership Award

This award recognizes exceptional contributions of faculty and staff to their department as well as the college through administrative and academic leadership, programmatic development, classroom and laboratory teaching, student advising and contributions to co-curricular activities.  This award was established to honor Dr. John S. Anderson upon the occasion of his retirement after 39 years of service to the University.  Personal characteristics used to describe Dr. Anderson include fairness, integrity, honesty, forthrightness, openness and inclusiveness.  Dr. Anderson was also well known for his enthusiasm, commitment to and love of the University.  Since the award was established to recognize Dr. Anderson, it is expected that recipients of the award will exemplify these same qualities.  Service and leadership contributions to professional organizations will also be highly considered.


  1. Current faculty or staff in CBS or affiliated departments (i.e. Microbiology, Neuroscience).
  2. At least five academic years at the University of Minnesota (including current year).



Need more info? Contact Jean Underwood at


February, 2014