You are here

Call for Nominations - Tate, Morse, Graduate Awards

The CBS Recognition Committee is soliciting nominations for the John Tate Award for Excellence in Undergraduate AdvisingHorace T. Morse-University of Minnesota Alumni Undergraduate Education Award, and the Award for Outstanding Contributions to Postbaccalaureate, Graduate, and Professional Education.

John Tate Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising

The Tate award is given to both faculty members who advise students and also to professional advisers and career counselors.  The Tate Awards serve to recognize and reward high-quality academic and career advising. 

To be eligible for this award the nominee must:

  • Be University staff or faculty holding at least 75% time appointments

  • Actively participate in academic and/or career development of undergraduates (directly or administratively)

Nominations will be evaluated based on outstanding advising from faculty, academic advisers, and career advisers. Each winner will receive a $3,000 one-time award.

Horace T. Morse-University of Minnesota Alumni Undergraduate Education Award

This honor is awarded to exceptional candidates nominated by colleges in their quest to identify excellence in undergraduate education

Award for Outstanding Contributions to Post-baccalaureate, Graduate, and Professional Education

This honor is awarded annually to exceptional candidates nominated by their colleges in their quest to identify excellence in post-baccalaureate, graduate, and/or professional education.

To be eligible for either the Morse or Graduate Awards, the nominees must:

  • Be a regular faculty (tenure-track and tenured), term faculty (non-regular) salaried through the University and holding a 66 2/3% time or greater appointment, and P&A teachers, who have been at the University of Minnesota for at least five years, including the current year, may be nominated for either award.

Recipients of the Morse-Alumni Award or the Graduate-Professional Award become members of the Academy of Distinguished Teachers. The title "Distinguished University Teaching Professor" or “Distinguished University Teacher” is conferred upon recipients. Each winner will also receive a $15,000 one-time award.

We are asking for your initial nominations by Friday, October 24, 2014. The Committee will meet the following week to determine which nominations should be more fully developed and sent forward to the All-University Selection Committee. Initial nominations should include the nominee's CV and a one page letter highlighting the candidate's qualifications for the award. Please submit nominations to Jean Underwood, or 124 Snyder Hall. Nominators will be notified as soon as a decision has been made to allow you sufficient time to develop your nomination. Final nomination packets must be submitted to Jean Underwood by Wednesday, January 7 to meet the Tuesday, January 13 deadline.