You are here

Tilman award recipient named

Kristin Gabel receives 2018 Sarah Tilman Memorial Science Teacher Award

Kristin Gabel, a science teacher at Eden Prairie High School in Eden Prairie, Minnesota, was recently named the 2018 recipient of the Sarah L. Tilman Memorial Science Teacher Award. The College of Biological Sciences offers the award annually to recognize a secondary science educator for their excellence in teaching and mentoring, along with $2,000 to advance their teaching mission. CBS first-year students can nominate their high school educators for the award.

In addition to her work at Eden Prairie High School, Gabel stood out after being nominated multiple times over the years by students who took her courses. As one of her nominators said:

“Every single day I left her class with a deeper appreciation for the scientific method and having learned something new. She found a way to make every lesson interesting and really related it to real life.”

The award is named after Sarah Tilman, the daughter of University of Minnesota Regents Professor, G. David Tilman, who was a science teacher at Woodrow Wilson Public High School in Washington, DC. She unexpectedly passed away in February 2009. Sarah chose a career in education because she thought that all students should have teachers like those that inspired her. She was a passionate and dedicated teacher who brought real research into the classroom.

September, 2018