You are here

Two Groups of CBS Students Awarded at 2018 Acara Challenge

CBS Acara Challenge Winners 2018

Two groups of College of Biological Sciences students were winners at the 2018 Acara Challenge hosted by the University’s Institute on the Environment.

Abigail Knoble (BS Biology ‘19) and Maria Soroka (BS Neuroscience ‘18) were named Silver Winners and awarded up to $3,000 in fellowship funding to pilot their project, Educowtion, which provides nutritional support to pastoralist children in northern Uganda.

Dylan Duerre (BS GCD ‘19) and Katharine Young, (Microbiology ‘19) were part of the team that was named the Bronze Winner and awarded up to $2,000 in fellowship funding to pilot their program, uGis, which provides geographic information system (GIS) data to communities in Karamoja, Uganda.

The Acara challenge is open to all undergraduate and graduate students from all University of Minnesota campuses. It provides mentorship and financial support to student ventures in all stages of development that address the University’s Grand Challenges, specifically those relating to social and environment issues.

Learn more about Acara and see a full list of winners here.


March, 2018