You are here

What a year! A message from the dean

You may have noticed the tagline “CBS Proud.” It’s not just a slogan. As 2013 wraps up, the phrase takes on special resonance given the very visible results of much hard work and dedication. Here are just some of the reasons to be “CBS Proud” of the past year:

  • Sarah Hobbie (EEB) joined a truly elite group of U of M faculty as the University’s newest member of the National Academy of Sciences. More
  • The college met its fundraising goals and broke ground on a new campus center at Itasca Biological Station and Laboratories after a tremendous effort by supporters.
  • Foundations of Biology received some well-deserved recognition with an award for inquiry-based instruction from Science. More
  • The college hired exceptional new faculty to join research clusters designed to put CBS at the leading edge of emerging areas of the biological sciences. More
  • Undergraduates Max Shinn and Karen Leopold were named Goldwater Scholars, two of only three students U-wide to receive the prestigious research award. More
  • Reuben Harris’ discovery of a human antiviral enzyme that causes DNA mutations connected to several forms of cancer was highlighted by the U as a top achievement in 2013. More
  • The college received a U of M Equity and Diversity Transformation Award for efforts to boost inclusion using creative communications. More
  • Our exceptional Student Services continued its winning streak with awards for innovation and inclusion, as well as the University's P&A Outstanding Unit Award. More
  • Sue Wick (Biology Program) received the UMAA Morse Alumni Award in recognition of her incredible dedication and skill as an educator. More




December, 2013