You are here

Worth Their Teaching Weight in Gold

CBS Student Board honors faculty making big impacts in undergraduate research and education.

The CBS Student Board hosted the annual Golden Pipette Awards March 2 at TCF Bank Stadium, honoring faculty who make major impacts on undergraduates in the college. From most engaging to best academic mentor and CBS Super Fan, the Student Board and students in the college noted some of the faculty that make a difference for them. The 2017 Golden Pipette winners are:

Best Academic/Professional Mentor
Winner: Lorene Lanier (Neuroscience)

Lorene Lanier

Runner up: Romas Kazlauskas (Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Biophysics)

Best Undergraduate Research Mentor
Winner: Esther Krook-Magnuson (Neuroscience)

Esther Krook-Magnuson

Runner up: Georgiana May (Ecology, Evolution and Behavior and Plant and Microbial Biology)

CBS Super Fan
Winner: Michael Sadowsky (BioTechnology Institute)

Michael Sadowsky

Runner up: Leslie Schiff (Microbiology)

Funniest Professor - Lower Division
Winner: Mark Decker (Biology Teaching and Learning)

Runner up: Brian Gibbens (Biology Teaching and Learning)

Funniest Professor - Upper Division
Winner: Jane Glazebrook (Plant and Microbial Biology)

Jane Glazebrook

Runner up: Eric Hendrickson (Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Biophysics)

Most Engaging Professor - Lower Division
Winner: Tamar Resnick (Biology Teaching and Learning)

Tamar Resnick

Runner up: Craig Packer (Ecology, Evolution and Behavior)

Most Engaging Professor - Upper Division
Winner: Michael Wilson (Ecology, Evolution and Behavior)

Michael Wilson

Runner up: Ann Rougvie (Genetics, Cell Biology and Development)

Most Passionate Professor - Lower Division
Winner: David Matthes (Biology Teaching and Learning)

David Matthes

Runner up: Adam Engelhardt (Biology Teaching and Learning)

Most Passionate Professor - Upper Division
Winner: Yaniv Brandvain (Ecology, Evolution and Behavior and Plant and Microbial Biology)

Yaniv Brandvain

Runner up: Paul Siliciano (Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Biophysics)

Most Valuable Professor
Winner: Peter Kennedy (Biology Teaching and Learning; Ecology, Evolution and Behavior and Plant and Microbial Biology)

Peter Kennedy

Runner up: Michael Smanski (Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Biophysics)


March, 2017