Research facilities

Biophysical Spectroscopy Center

BTC provides state-of-the-art instrumental resources for optical spectroscopy, electron paramagnetic resonance spectroscopy (EPR), and high-throughput screening (HTS), thus providing researchers a core facility to pursue their projects, develop their skills, and obtain new funding.

Director: J. Michael Autry, PhD
Spectroscopy Manager: Andrew R. Thompson, PhD
HTS Manager: Tory M. Schaaf, PhD

Center For Mass Spectrometry and Proteomics

The CMSP provides support, equipment, and expertise for analyzing complex protein mixtures.

Director: Dr. Tim Griffin
Co-Director: Dr. Gary Nelsestuen
Manager: Dr. Tom Krick

Kahlert Structural Biology Laboratory

The laboratory houses four complete macromolecular X-ray data collection beam lines with three RigakuMSC Micromax 007 X-ray generators, three R-axis IV++ image plate detectors, and a Saturn 944+ CCD Camera.

Director: Dr. Carrie Wilmot
Manager: Dr. Ed Hoeffner

Nano Crystallization Facility

The purpose of this facility is to aid researchers at these institutions by providing access to a high throughput, low sample volume, crystallization facility which will in turn increase access to x-ray crystallography and the determination of 3D atomic structures of biological macromolecules.

Director: Dr. Douglas Ohlendorf
Manager: Ke Shi

Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Facility

The mission of the NMR Center is to enhance the research infrastructure available for faculty by ensuring access to state-of-the-art technologies for both solution and solid-state NMR.

Director: Dr. Gianluigi Veglia