Awards and recognition

Faculty, students, staff, and alumni of the College of Biological Sciences have received top honors from the University and the college over the years. Explore these listings of past award winners and honorary degree recipients.


Stanley Dagley-Samuel Kirkwood Undergraduate Education Award

This award acknowledges exceptional faculty contributions to undergraduate education including classroom presentation, educational innovation, and curriculum development. It recognizes scholarly work with individual students on projects, in tutorials and in other informal settings. Understanding of academic advising is also considered a good aspect of teaching. Some faculty members make particularly significant contributions by developing new courses, organizing or reorganizing curricular programs, or improving teaching methods and techniques. The recipient of this award will have enhanced the lives of College of Biological Sciences students. View past recipients.

Nomination information is available from Anna Cullen,

John S. Anderson Leadership Award

This award recognizes the exceptional contributions of faculty and staff to their department as well as the college through administrative and academic leadership, programmatic development, classroom and laboratory teaching, student advising, and contributions to co-curricular activities. It is expected that recipients of this award will exhibit the personal characteristics that were often used to describe Dr. Anderson, which include fairness, integrity, honesty, forthrightness, openness, and inclusiveness. Dr. Anderson was also well known for his enthusiasm, commitment to and love of the University. View past recipients.

  1. Current faculty or staff in CBS or affiliated departments (i.e. Microbiology, Neuroscience).
  2. At least five academic years at the University of Minnesota (including current year).

Nomination information is available from Anna Cullen at or 612-624-7747.


Morse-Alumni Award

University of Minnesota Alumni Award for outstanding contributions to undergraduate education. 

Tate Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Advising

The Tate Awards serve to recognize and reward high-quality academic advising. 

Graduate-Professional Award

Recognize contributions to postbaccalaureate, graduate, and professional education. Recipients are chosen for excellence in instruction; involvement in students’ research, scholarship, and professional development; development of instructional programs; and advising and mentoring of students.