2014 CBS awards go to ...

April 10, 2014

Paul Siliciano and Chris Mohr recognized for leadership, contributions to undergraduate education.

Paul Siliciano, associate professor and director of undergraduate studies in the Department of Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Biophysics, is the 2014 recipient of the John S. Anderson Leadership Award. The award recognizes exceptional contributions of faculty and staff to their department as well as the college through administrative and academic leadership, programmatic development, classroom and laboratory teaching, student advising, and contributions to co-curricular activities. It is expected that recipients of this award will exhibit the personal characteristics that were often used to describe Dr. Anderson, which include fairness, integrity, honesty, forthrightness, openness and inclusiveness. Siliciano is also a 2010 recipient of the Horace T. Morse-University of Minnesota Alumni Association Award and a 2011 recipient of Disability Services' Access Achievement Award.

Chris Mohr, assistant professor in the Department of Microbiology, is the 2014 recipient of the Stanley Dagley-Samuel Kirkwood Undergraduate Education Award. This award acknowledges exceptional faculty contributions to undergraduate education including classroom presentation, educational innovation and curriculum development. It recognizes scholarly work with individual students on projects, in tutorials and other informal settings. Understanding of academic advising is also considered a good aspect of teaching. Some faculty members make particularly significant contributions through developing new courses, organizing or reorganizing curricular programs, or improving teaching methods and techniques. The recipient of this award will have enhanced the lives of College of Biological Sciences students.