You are here

Kim Group Alumni


PhD students: Dr. David Seung-Hyun Ro (PhD, 2010) is a tenure-track Assistant Professor in the Department of Biochemistry at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Dr. Jing Cao (PhD, 2012) is an Assistant Professor at the Baylor College of Medicine and Associate Director of Clinical Chemistry at the Texas Children’s Hospital. Dr. Neil Michael Otto (PhD, 2014) is a Senior Scientist at Bmogen Bio-Technologies in Minneapolis.

Postdoctoral scholars: All of the postdoctoral alumni continue their research at schools, research institutes, and biotech companies. Dr. Chang Hwa Jung, who is the 2009 Basic Science Awardee from the University Masonic Cancer Center, leads a research group at the Korea Food Science Institute. Dr. Bong Seok Kang is currently an Associate Professor at Kyungbuk National University Biomedical Research Institute in South Korea. Dr. Minchul Seo is a Research Assistant Professor at Dongguk University in South Korea. Dr. Young Sung Yun is a Head scientist at Amicogen Biotech Co. in South Korea. Dr. Young-Mi Kim leads a research group at Boditech Med Inc., New Jersey. 

Junior Scientists: Dr. Emilie Vander Haar is a MD (U. Chicago Pritzker school of Medicine with full scholarship). Dr. Yeon-Jae Kim (PhD, KAIST) is a Group Leader at the National Cancer Institute in South Korea. Dr. Dong-Hwan Kim (PhD, U. Minnesota) is a postdoctoral associate at the Stowers Institute in Kansas City. Subin Jang (MPH, U. Minnesota) is a staff scientist at the Minnesota Department of Health. Ryan Schultz is a PhD student at the UC Berkeley in the Department of Neuroscience.