Springer and Olszewski Honored by Plant Biology Society

April 06, 2018

Plant and Microbial Biology faculty members recognized for their contributions to the field.

Nathan Springer and Neil Olszewski

Nathan Springer (pictured left) and Neil Olszewski (pictured right)

The American Society of Plant Biologists recently honored two CBS faculty, naming Neil Olszewski a Fellow of the American Society of Plant Biologists and recognizing Nathan Springer with its Charles Albert Shull Award. Both faculty are members of the Department of Plant and Microbial Biology.

“Nathan has been a leader in advancing our understanding of genomic variation and epigenetic inheritance in plants and the role of these types of variation in contributing to natural variation in plants,” says Gary Muehlbauer, PMB department head.

Springer is a McKnight Presidential Endowed Professor who joined CBS faculty in 2003. His research focuses on the heritable variation within a species, particularly understanding the molecular variation and inheritance in maize.

Olszewski focuses his research on understanding plant growth and development, particularly protein modification and plant hormone signaling. He is also a known leader in characterizing plant viruses. Olszewski joined CBS faculty in 1987.

“Neil has made significant contributions in our understanding of gibberellin biology and has made several important discoveries to help unravel its role in the developmental and physiological processes in plants,” says Muehlbauer. “He has also been a leader in characterizing plant viruses.”