Genetic Counseling alumni news and recognition

Alumni news

August 2019 - Divya Ramachandra (2017) was a featured speaker for an NSGC webinar based on her thesis project about novice genetic counselors.

Winter 2019 - Associate Program Director Heather Zierhut was featured in a University of MN Alumni Association article about ancestry testing. Alum KT Curry (2017) was featured in a PBS segment of Science Trek about heredity. 

November 2018 - Clinical supervisor Mary Ahrens was awarded the AGCPD Outstanding Supervisor Award. Associate Program Director Heather Zierhut was featured in a WCCO segment about direct-to-consumer testing.

September 2017 - Clinical supervisor and alum Sarah Kreykes (1995) was featured on Kare11 in a story about genetic testing for heart conditions.

September 2017 - At this year's NSGC conference, 3 of our recent grads (Elisabeth Wurtmann, Megan Yoho, and KT Curry) will present their research in poster presentations and 4 recent grads (Katie Plamann, Mike Suguitan, John Zimmerman, and Divya Ramachandra) have been accepted for platform presentations.

January 2017 - Matt Bower (2001) received the Exceptional Contributor Award at Fairview. He was recognized for his work in developing germline genetic testing in the Molecular Diagnostics lab at M Health and saving Fairview over $1,000,000 by bring this testing in-house instead of sending it out to other labs.

Congratulations to NSGC Award Winners!

  • 2018 JEMF Full Member Award: Heather Zierhut (2006)
  • 2017 Strategic Leader Award: Heather Zierhut (2006)
  • 2017 JEMF Student Research Award: Cheyenne Dewey (2018)
  • 2017 Best Student Abstract Award: Katie Plamann (2017)
  • 2017 Prenatal SIG Award: Veronica Greve (2018)
  • 2017 Cultural Competency Award: Sara Pirzadeh-Miller (2005)
  • 2017 Conference Travel Scholarship Award: Hillary Handler (2016)
  • 2016 Cultural Competency Student Scholarship Award: Mike Suguitan (2017)
  • 2014 Outstanding Volunteer Award: Heather Zierhut (2006)
  • 2013 NSGC President: Rebecca Nagy (1996)
  • 2013 ABGC Board of Directors: Karen Powell (1994)
  • 2012 JEMF Student Research Award: Whiwon Lee (2013)
  • 2010 International Leader Award: Rawan Awwad (2006)
  • 2010 Strategic Leader Award: Angela Trepanier (1994)
  • 2009 New Leader Award: Sara Pirzadeh-Miller (2005)
  • 2009 New Leader Award: Heather Zierhut (2006)
  • 2003-2007 ABGC Board of Directors: Troy Becker (1992)
  • 2008 NSGC President: Angela Trepanier (1994)